" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Torbay

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Torbay Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Torbay.

 

 

 

On 3 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Torbay Council. Between 3 October 2017 and 11 December 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Torbay Council

·         Summary of the Torbay report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Torbay Council

·         An overview map of Torbay Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Torbay electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Torbay)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Torbay closed on 14 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Torbay Council

Political Groups:

Totnes Conservative Association

Torbay Conservative Association

Torbay Labour Party

Torbay Liberal Democrats

Torbay Independent Group

Councillors:

Cllr Carter

Cllr Darling

Cllr Excell

Cllr Kingscote

Cllr Stubley

Cllr O'Dwyer

Local Organisations:

Brixham Community Partnership

Chelston, Cockington and Livermead Community Partnership

Churston, Galmpton and Broadsands Community Partnership

Campaign to Protect Rural England

Ellacombe All Stars Children's Club

Torre and Upton Community Partnership

Wellswood and Torwood Community Partnership

Parish and Town Councils:

Brixham Town Council

Local Residents:

Anderson J (1)

Anderson J (2)

Andrews E

Borrett P

Burkett P

Hyde J

Scaife A

Taniguchi S

Williams M

Wotton D

Anonymous:

Anonymous


On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Torbay Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Torbay Council should have 36 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Torbay to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 36 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Torbay Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Torbay Council and may contain boundary errors.

Torbay polling district map (Central)

Torbay polling district map (North)

Torbay polling district map (South)

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Torbay Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Torbay Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Torbay Council Size Submission Part 1

Torbay Council Size Submission Part 2

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 4 December 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed boundaries between Berry Head-with-Furzeham, St Mary's-with-Summercombe and Churston-with-Galmpton wards; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed boundaries between Berry Head-with-Furzeham, St Mary's-with-Summercombe and Churston-with-Galmpton wards; (PDF)

Large map (7.5 Mb) Illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for Paignton and Torquay; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 19 June 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating the draft recommendations for Torbay: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed boundaries between Berry Head-with-Furzeham, St Mary's-with- Summercombe and Churston-with-Galmpton wards; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed boundary between Berry Head-with-Furzeham and St Mary's-with- Summercombe wards; (PDF)

Large map (7.5 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Torquay and Paignton; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date From
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more