Draft and final recommendation reports for Teignbridge District Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE); available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Teignbridge

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission's electoral review of Teignbridge District Council was completed in November 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that ensure each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review also aimed to ensure that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities, and provided for effective and convenient local government.

Recommendations become law

The Teignbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Teighbridge, was made on 8 November 2017.

New ward arrangements for Teignbridge District Council have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The Order for Teignbridge District Council can be viewed through the following link.

On 13 July 2017, the Teignbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament. Now that that draft Order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements for Teignbridge, and published on 24 January 2017.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 24 January 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Teignbridge District Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Teignbridge District Council (PDF)

·         Summary of the Teignbridge report (PDF)

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Teignbridge District Council (PDF)

·         Overview map of the Teignbridge District Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Teignbridge. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Teignbridge District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on the 31 October 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received.

Local Authority:

Teignbridge District Council

Political Groups:

Central Devon Conservative Association

Central Devon Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Connett

Cllr Ford

Cllr Laing

Parish and Town Councils:

Ashton Parish Meeting

Bovey Tracey Town Council

Christow Parish Council

Dunsford Parish Council

Hennock Parish Council

Holcombe Burnell Parish Council

Ide Parish Council

Lustleigh Parish Council

Moretonhampstead Parish Council

Newton Abbot Town Council

North Bovey Parish Council

Tedburn St Mary Parish Council

Whitestone Parish Council

Local Residents:

Ms Bryant, V

Mr Carnell, R

Mr Friend, D

Mr Hanson, P

Mr Jeffery, M

Mr Keeling, R

Mr King, D

Mr McCullar, P

Mr Morris, B

Mr Privett, P

Ms Wills, H

Ms Wonnacott, S


On 6 September 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Teignbridge District Council. Between 6 September 2016 and 31 October 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found at the links below.

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on the 4 July 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received.

Local residents:

Davies P (PDF)

Fisher M (PDF)

Friend D (PDF)

Keeling R (PDF)

Ward T (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Dewhirst (PDF)

Cllr Ford (PDF)

Cllr Hook (PDF)

Cllr Parker (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Abbotskerswell PC (PDF)

Bishopsteignton PC (PDF)

Hennock PC (PDF)

Ipplepen PC (PDF)

Newton Abbott TC (PDF)

Ogwell PC (PDF)

Political Group:

Central Devon Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Authority:

Teignbridge District Council (PDF)

Devon County Council (PDF)


On 26th April 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Teignbridge District Council. Between 26 April and 4 July 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Teignbridge District Council should have 46 district councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Teignbridge to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 46 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Teignbridge District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Teignbridge District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Teignbrigde District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Teignbridge District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published in January 1999.

Draft report, published in August 1998.