Draft and final recommendation reports for South Hams, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Hams

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of South Hams between January 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each South Hams councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Hams (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Hams, was made on 5 November 2014 and was published 19 November 2014). New ward arrangements for South Hams have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections 2015.

The order for South Hams can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3059/pdfs/uksi_20143059_en.pdf

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 July 2014 the South Hams (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Hams and published on 25 February 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Hams in 2015.

The draft order can be found below:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111118177/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 February 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Hams Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Hams Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey. 

On 20 August 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Hams District Council. Between 20 August 2013 and 11 November 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 11 November 2013

The following are the submissions which we collected:

Councillor

Councillors(PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and Town Councills(PDF)

Local Residents

Local Residents(PDF)

Local Organisations

Local Organisations(PDF)

Local Authority

South Hams District Council(PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. 

On 26 March 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Hams District Council. Between 26 March 2013 and 4 June 2013, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of South Hams Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Consultation closed on 4 June 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 19 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions

Local Residents (PDF)

Local Authority

South Hams District Council (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils 

We received 19 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Cllr G Beable (PDF)

Cllr D Bishop (PDF)

Cllr T Whitty (PDF)

Cllr S Daniels (PDF)

Cllr R Hoskins (PDF)

Cllr C Peters (PDF)

District Councillors

Cllr K Baldry (PDF)

Cllr I Blackler (PDF)

Cllr J Hawkins (PDF)

Cllr M Hicks (PDF)

Cllr J Hodgson (PDF)

Cllr T Holway (PDF)

Cllr M Saltern (PDF

Political Groups

Kingswear Conservatives A (PDF)

Kingswear Conservatives B (PDF)

You may find our electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about ward boundaries. 

On 8 January 2013 we started an electoral review of South Hams District Council. From 8 January 2013 to 18 February 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent South Hams in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council which available below. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 30 members for South Hams Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size and view an interactive map of the existing wards visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 24 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

We received 10 submissions from councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councils

We received 25 submissions from parish councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish Councils (PDF)

Political Groups

South West Devon Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Kingswear Branch-Totnes Conservative Association (PDF)

Totnes Constituency Conservative Association (PDF)

Green Group (PDF)

Local Authority

CEO South Hams District Council (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Hams District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received two submissions, one from the Council and another from the Opposition councillors.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in November 1997;

Draft report (PDF) published in May 1997.