" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

North Devon

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of North Devon District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across North Devon.

On 25 July 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for North Devon District Council. Between 25 July 2017 and 2 October 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that North Devon District Council should have 41 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across North Devon to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 41 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of North Devon District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by North Devon District Council and may contain boundary errors.

North Devon District Council polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

You can make a submission to the North Devon electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (North Devon)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with North Devon District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on North Devon District Council). We received one submission on council size:

North Devon District Council - Number of Councillors Submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in January 1999;

Draft report (PDF), published in August 1998.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
25 July 2017
2 October 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
5 December 2017
19 February 2018
Final recommendations published
8 May 2018


Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more