Draft and final recommendation reports for Exeter, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Exeter

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Exeter between December 2014 - January 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Exeter councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Exeter (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Exeter, was made on 19 January 2016 and was published 20 January 2016. New ward arrangements for Exeter have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Exeter can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/65/contents/made

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2015 the Exeter (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Exeter and published on 29 September 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Exeter in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111140420/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 29th September 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Exeter City Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Exeter City Council (PDF)

 Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

 Letter to the Chief Executive of Exeter City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Exeter City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 10 August 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 44 submissions from local residents. All the local resident submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Anonymous

We received 3 anonymous submissions.

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Local Authority

Exeter City Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Hannaford (PDF)

Cllr Owen (PDF)

Cllr Prowse (PDF)

Local Organisations

Alphington Village Forum (PDF)

Exeter St James Community Trust Ltd (PDF)

Exeter St James Forum (PDF)

Political Groups

Exeter City Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Exeter Green Party (PDF)

 On 9 June 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Exeter City Council. Between 9 June 2015 and 10 August 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Exeter City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Exeter City Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Exeter City Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download. To interact with our draft recommendations click on our overview map of the recommendations:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 03 February 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Exeter City Council. Between 3 February 2015 and 30 March 2015, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Exeter City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

 
This consultation has now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Anonymous

Anonymous submission 1 (PDF)

Anonymous submission 2 (PDF) 

Anonymous submission 3 (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Mitchell (PDF)

Cllr Prowse (PDF)

Local authority

Exeter City Council (PDF)

Local organisations

St James Forum (PDF)

St Leonards Neighbourhood Association (PDF)

NHS (PDF)

Local residents

Surnames B-H (PDF)

Surnames J-W (PDF)

Political groups

Exeter Conservative Council Group (PDF)


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Exeter City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Exeter City Council). We received 1 submissions on council size.

Exeter City Council (PDF)

 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). 

Final report (PDF) published in January 1999; 

Draft report, (PDF) published in June 1998.

 


A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published in September 1995

Useful Documents