The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Devon District Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across East Devon Council.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Devon

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Devon District Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across East Devon Council.

On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of East Devon District Council. Between 7 February 2017 and 3 April 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

 

Draft recommendations for East Devon District Council (PDF)

Summary of the East Devon District Council report

News release on draft recommendations for East Devon District Council

 

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of East Devon District Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the East Devon electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

  
   The Review Officer (East Devon)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 5 December 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the review:

Local Authority:

East Devon District Council

Political Groups:

Exmouth Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Bailey

Cllr Jung

Local Organisations:

West Hill Residents Association

Parish and Town Councils:

Axminster Town Council

Aylesbeare Parish Council

Beer Parish Council

Branscombe Parish Council

Budleigh Salterton Town Council

Colaton Raleigh Parish Council

Cranbrook Town Council, Broadclyst Parish Council, Clyst Honiton Parish Council, Poltimore Parish Council, Rockbeare Parish Council and Whimple Parish Council

Exmouth Town Council

Farway Parish Council

Honiton Town Council

Lympstone Parish Council

Membury Parish Council

Musbury Parish Council

Otterton Parish Council

Sidmouth Town Council

Talaton Parish Council

Woodbury Parish Council

Local Residents:

All of the submissions we received from local residents are contained in the document below.

Local Residents


On 27th September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for East Devon District Council. Between 27th September 2016 and 5th December 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that East Devon District Council should have 60 councillors in the future, which is an increase by 1 councillor.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across East Devon to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 60 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of East Devon District Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by East Devon District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Devon District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on East Devon District Council).

We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF) published in January 1999;

Draft report (PDF)published in June 1998.

Review Dates


Dates from
Dates to
Consultation on warding arrangements:
27th September 2016
5th December 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations:
7th February 2017
3rd April 2017
Final recommendations:
6th June 2017

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more