LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cornwall

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Cornwall Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Cornwall.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During this preliminary stage of the review, the Commission has received 4 proposals from Cornwall Council. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 87 members for Cornwall Council.

We received four submissions on council size from the council:

Cornwall Council 

Cllr King

Cornwall Council Conservative Group

Cornwall Council Liberal Democrats

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF), our consultation document (PDF) and our news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2017 and 2018.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Links to submissions are currently unavailable on this page. Please bear with us as we work to restore the page.  

Recommendations become law

The Cornwall (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cornwall, was made on 4 January 2011 and published on 7 January 2011.

New electoral divisions for Cornwall have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in May 2013.

The order for Cornwall can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/1/made

The made order refers to the same map as the draft order.   

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 11 October 2010 the Cornwall (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Boundary Committee for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Cornwall and published on 8 December 2009.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cornwall in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Please note: some of these sheets may be very large and may take some time to download.

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Cornwall

On 8 December 2009 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cornwall.  These are available through the links below.

Final recommendations (PDF) and summary of the report (PDF).  We also issued a press release (PDF).

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cornwall.  The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament.  An Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament.  Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations.  If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next elections for Cornwall Council in 2013.

Further consultation - 10 August 2009 to 16 September 2009

Following our analysis of the responses received during Stage Three, we are sought further views in four specific areas in Cornwall. Below are the submissions we received:

Cornwall Council (PDF)

Councillors (PDF)

Parishes

Parishes A-K (PDF)Parishes L-Q (PDF)
Parishes R-Z (PDF)

Politcal organisations

Camborne & Redruth Constituency Labour Party (PDF)Cornwall Conservatives (PDF)
Cornwall County Labour Party (PDF)
Mebyon Kernow (PDF)St Ives Consituency Conservative Association (PDF)

Local organisations

Leedstown WI (PDF)
Praze an Beeble WI (PDF)

Members of the public

Residents A-McD (PDF)Residents Mi-Sp (PDF)
Residents Sw-Z (PDF)

Stage Three

Submissions

Cornwall County Council (PDF)

Caraden District Council (PDF)

Penwith District Council (PDF)

Restormel Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and political groups

Councillors A-C (PDF)Councillors D-J (PDF)Councillors K-P (PDF)
Councillors R-Z (PDF)

A George MP (PDF)

Camborne & Redruth Constituency Labour Party (PDF)
Cornwall Conservative Party (PDF)Cornwall County Labour Party (PDF)Mebyon Kernow (PDF)St Agnes Liberal Democrats (PDF)St Ives Constituency Conservatives Association (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parishes A-H (PDF)Parishes I-M (PDF)Parishes N-StD (PDF)
Parishes StE-Z (PDF)

Local organisations (PDF)

Residents

Residents A-C (PDF)
Residents D-H (PDF)Residents I-R (PDF)
Residents S-Z (PDF)

Draft recommendations

On 2 December 2008 we published draft recommendations (PDF) for new electoral arrangements in Cornwall.

We also published a summary of the report (PDF).

Maps of the area: Map 1 (PDF), Map 2 (PDF), Map 3 (PDF), Map 4 (PDF), Map 5 (PDF), Map 6 (PDF), Map 7 (PDF), Map 8 (PDF), Map 9 (PDF), Map 10 (PDF), Map 11 (PDF), Map 12 (PDF), Map 13 (PDF), Map 14 (PDF), Map 15 (PDF), Map 16 (PDF), Map 17 (PDF), Map 18 (PDF), Map 19 (PDF) and Map 20 (PDF)
Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download. Map 1 is an overview of the county and includes key boxes that show the specific areas of the county to which the detailed maps (2-20) refer.

Stage One

Further consultation on council size

Following consideration of the evidence received during Stage One of the review of the new Cornwall unitary authority, we carried out a period of further consultation on council size. This ran from 5 June 2008 to 18 July 2008. On 15 August 2008, the Committee wrote to the Cornwall Implementation Executive regarding the outcome of the consultation on council size. The letter is below:

Letter from the Boundary Committee to the Cornwall Implementation Executive regarding council size (PDF)


The submissions we received during the consultation period are below:

Implementation Executive - 123-member proposal (now outdated) (PDF)

On 9 September Implementation Executive submitted revised figures for its 123 member scheme. These figures contain minor modifications to reflect the most up to date information and correct small errors in the original figures. The modified figures supersede those submitted in its original 123 member scheme.

Implementation Executive - 123-member proposal (revised) (PDF)

Resident - 90-member proposal (PDF)

County and District Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils A - H (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils I - P (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils R - W (PDF)

Political parties and groups (PDF)

Other Groups (PDF)

Residents (PDF)

On 21 May 2008, we sent a letter to Councillor David Whalley (PDF), chair of the Cornwall Implementation Executive, outlining the Committee's position at the time.

Submissions 

On 26 February 2008, we started an electoral review of Cornwall. During the first stage of the review (to 21 April 2008) we have invited proposals for the future electoral arrangements for Cornwall. Below are the submissions we received at Stage One.

One Cornwall submission - 130 member proposal (PDF)

Cornwall County Councillors 

Councillor Angrove (PDF)

Councillor Briscoe (PDF)

Councillor Cooper (PDF)

Councillor Currie (PDF)

Councillor German (PDF)

Councillor Hatton - letter (PDF)
Councillor Hatton - map of Constantine (PDF)

Councillor Hocking part one (PDF)
Councillor Hocking part two (PDF)

Councillor Mennear (PDF)

Councillor Payne - letter (with figures) (PDF)
Penwith map 1 (PDF)Penwith map 2 (PDF)
Penwith map 3 (PDF)
Penwith map 4 (PDF)

Councillor Roberts (PDF)

Councillor Whalley

Local authorities and district Councillors

Caradon District Council (PDF)

Caradon District Council maps (PDF)

Kerrier District Council (PDF)

Penwith District Council (PDF)

Restormel Borough Council (PDF)

Truro City Council (PDF)

Councillor Candy (PDF)

Councillor Cole (PDF)

Councillor Kenny (PDF)

Councillor Long (PDF)

Councillor Thomas (PDF)

Councillor Wells (PDF)

Parish and town councils and Councillors

Altarnun Parish Council (PDF)

Bodmin Town Council (PDF)

Boyton Parish Council (PDF)

Callington Town Council (PDF)

Calstock Parish Council (PDF)

Camborne Town Council (PDF)

Carharrack Parish Council (PDF)

Carn Brea Parish Council (PDF)

Deviock Parish Council (PDF)

Duloe Parish Council (PDF)

Feock Parish Council (PDF)

Germoe Parish Council (PDF)

Gweek Parish Council (PDF)

Gwennap Parish Council (PDF)

Gwinear Gwithian Parish Council - email (PDF)

Gwinear Gwithian Parish Council - letter (PDF)

Hayle Town Council (PDF)

Helston Town Council (PDF)

Kea Parish Council (PDF)

Kenwyn Parish Council (PDF)

Laneast Parish Council (PDF)

Lanner Parish Council (PDF)

Lanreath Parish Council (PDF)

Lansallos Parish Council (PDF)

Lanteglos Parish Council (PDF)

Launceston Town Council (PDF)

Liskaerd Town Council (PDF)

Marazion Town Council (PDF)

Morval Parish Council (PDF)

Newquay Town Council (PDF)

Pelynt Parish Council (PDF)

Penzance Town Council (PDF)

Quethiock Parish Council (PDF)

Redruth Town Council (PDF)

Saltash Town Council (PDF)

Sheviock Parish Council (PDF)

South Petherwin Parish Council (PDF)

St Agnes Parish Council (PDF)

St. Cleer Parish Council (PDF)

St. Colum Major Town Council (PDF)

St. Enoder Parish Council (PDF)

St. Erme Parish Council (PDF)

St Erth Parish Council (PDF)

St. Gluvias Parish Council (PDF)

Stithians Parish Council (PDF)

St. Ives Town Council (PDF)

St. Michael Penkivel Parish Council (PDF)

St Neot Parish Council (PDF)

St. Newlyn East Parish Council (PDF)

Torpoint Town Council (PDF)

Withiel Parish Council (PDF)

Zennor Parish Council (PDF)


Councillor Nicholas (PDF)

Political organisations

Camborne and Redruth constituency Labour Party submission (PDF)

Camborne and Redruth constituency Labour Party maps (PDF)

Caradon District Council Conservative group (PDF)

Cornwall Conservative Party (PDF)

Cornwall County Council independent group (PDF)

Cornwall County Labour Party - overview (PDF)

Cornwall County Labour Party - electorate figures (PDF)

Restormel Borough Council Independent and non-aligned group of Councillors (PDF)

Truro and Falmouth constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Truro and Falmouth constituency Liberal Democrats (PDF)

St. Agnes Liberal Democrats (PDF)

St. Ives constituency Labour Party (PDF)

St Ives and Isle of Scilly branch, UK Independence Party (PDF)

Residents

Browning (PDF)
Butson (PDF)

Page (PDF)

Woods (PDF)

Local organisations

Carlyon Baywatch (PDF)Sea Road Frontagers Ltd (PDF)

Having recieved submissions during Stage One, we wrote to some proponents to ask for further evidence relating to proposals for council size. The letters sent and questions asked can be found below.

Councillor Whalley - 90 member council arrangement (PDF)

'One Cornwall' - 130 member council arrangement (PDF)


Press release (PDF)

Letter to Chief Executives of the district councils (PDF)

Letter to the Chief Executive of the county council (PDF)

Letter to parish and town councils (PDF)

Electorate figures (PDF) - the figures have been provided by Cornwall County Council, but are subject to approval by its Electoral Review Working Group.

[Insert]

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Cornwall County Council on 11 March 2003.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3 and Sheet 4. The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission's website explains how The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final recommendations (pdf), published on 14 September 2004.

Mapping sheet 1 , illustrates in outline form, the proposed divisions for Cornwall County Council, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Mapping sheet 2 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions of Meneage & South Helstone and Porthleven divisions in Kerrier district.

Mapping sheet 3 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions of Newquay Central, Newquay North, Newquay West and St Enoder & Colan divisions in Restormel borough.

Draft recommendations, published on 24 February 2004.

Sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Cornwall.

Sheet 2 illustrates the proposed divisions in (a) North Cornwall district and (b) Kerrier district.

Sheet 3 illustrates the proposed divisions in Restormel borough. 

 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 11 January 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 8 September 1994

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on council size
13 June 2017
7 August 2017
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 September 2016
4 December 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
6 March 2018
14 May 2018
Final recommendations
3 July 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more