Draft and final recommendation reports for Bristol, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Bristol

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Bristol between July 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Bristol councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Bristol (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Bristol, was made on 5 November 2015 and was published in November 2015. New ward arrangements for Bristol have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Bristol can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1871/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15th July 2015 the Bristol (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Bristol and published on 12th May 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Bristol in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137802/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Bristol City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Bristol City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the City Director of Bristol City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Bristol City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 16 February 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local residents - surnames A (PDF)

Local residents - surnames B (PDF)

Local residents - surnames C (PDF)

Local residents - surnames D (PDF)

Local residents - surnames E (PDF)

Local residents - surnames F (PDF)

Local residents - surnames G (PDF)

Local residents - surnames H (PDF)

Local residents - surnames I-J (PDF)

Local residents - surnames K-L (PDF)

Local residents - surnames M (PDF)

Local residents - surnames N-O (PDF)

Local residents - surnames P (PDF)

Local residents - surnames Q-R (PDF)

Local residents - surnames S (PDF)

Local residents - surnames T (PDF)

Local residents - surnames U-V (PDF)

Local residents - surnames W (PDF)

Local residents - anonymous (PDF)

We also received a submission from a Bristol City Council Officer

Yates N (PDF)

Councillors

All the City Councillor submissions are located in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

City Councillors (PDF)

Local organisations

All the local organisations submissions are located in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local organisations (PDF)

Political Groups

All the political group submissions are located in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Political groups (PDF)

Petition

We received one petition from Barton Hill Settlement.

Barton Hill Settlement (PDF)

MP and MEP

Fox A MEP (PDF)

Leslie C MP (PDF)

Late submissions

We received 6 late submissions

Davidson R (PDF)

Judge S (PDF)

Leigh T (PDF)

Moore AJ (PDF)

Sagen H (PDF)

Taylor N (PDF)

On 9 December 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Bristol City Council. Between 9 December 2014 and 16 February 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

• Draft recommendations report for Bristol City Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release on draft recommendations for Bristol City Council

• Letter sent to the City Director of Bristol City Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

On 22 July 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Bristol City Council. Between 22 July 2014 and 29 September 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 29 September 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 69 submissions from local residents. All submissions from local residents can be found in two documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local residents - surnames A-H (PDF)

Local residents - surnames I-Z (PDF)

Local organisations

We received 9 submissions from local organisations. All submissions from local organisations can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local organisations (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Eddy (PDF)

Cllr Goulandris (PDF)

Cllr Massey (PDF)

Cllr Quartley (PDF)

Cllr Davies and Hopkins (PDF)

Cllr Weston (PDF)

Cllr Windows (PDF)

MP and MEP

A Fox MEP (PDF)

C Leslie MP (PDF)

Political Groups

Bristol City Labour Group (PDF)

Bristol Conservatives (PDF)

Bristol Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Bristol South Labour Party (PDF)

Bristol Green Group (PDF)

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the city council should have 70 city councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across the area of Bristol City Council to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 70 city councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the City Director of Bristol City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the local authority and may contain boundary errors.

Bristol City Council Polling Map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Bristol City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of Councillors on Bristol City Council Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Bristol City Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published in March 1998;

Draft report, published in December 1997.