Draft and final recommendation reports for West Sussex, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Sussex County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of West Sussex between June 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each West Sussex councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The West Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in West Sussex, was made on 13 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for West Sussex have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for West Sussex can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/1224/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 26 October 2016 the West Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in West Sussex and published on 16 April 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for West Sussex in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150719

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 16th April 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for West Sussex County Council. The report is available in the link below. 

Final Recommendations Report (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release

Letter to the Chief Executive of West Sussex County Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual division can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load. 

A-Ho

Hu-Z

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of West Sussex County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6th June 2016

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local residents:

Thomas A (PDF)

Guidera A (PDF)

Flack C (PDF)

Berridge A (PDF)

Herbert S (PDF)

Stephens M (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Mulllins (PDF)

Cllr Lanzar (PDF)

Cllr Burgess (PDF)

Cllr Burrett (PDF)

Cllr Lamb (PDF)

Cllr Lunnon (PDF)

Cllr Smith (PDF)

MP:

Henry Smith (PDF)

Local Authority:

West Sussex County Council (PDF)

Crawley Borough Council (PDF)

Poltical Group:

Crawley Borough Conservative Group (PDF)

 

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England opened a new phase of public consultation in its review of West Sussex County Council’s electoral division boundaries.

The consultation focuses on new proposals for county division boundaries in Crawley.

Between 10 May 2016 and 6 June 2016 we invited comments on our further limited consultation on draft recommendations.

The Commission has listened to views put to it during previouse consultations and now proposes to make substantial changes to its previous recommendations for West Sussex County Council. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission is re-opening its consultation in this specific part of the county only.

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of West Sussex and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county on 16 August 2016.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

You can also read our news release for further information on the further limited consultation on draft recommendations.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 8 February 2016

Below are the submission that we recieved

Local Residents:

All of the local residents submissions we received are contained in the documents below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Bradnum (PDF)

Cllr Burgess et al (PDF)

Cllr Dennis (PDF)

Cllr Jones et al. (PDF)

Cllr Lanzer (PDF)

Cllr McCarthy et al. (PDF)

Cllr Mecrow (PDF)

Cllr Mullins et al. (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Ansty Staple Field PC (PDF)

Bognor Regis TC (PDF)

Burgess Hill TC (PDF)

Hayward Heather TC (PDF)

Lindfield PC (PDF)

Lindfield Rural PC (PDF)

Little Hampton TC (PDF)

Nuthurst PC (PDF)

Warnham PC (PDF)

Borough Council:

Crawley Borough Council (PDF)

Local Authority:

West Sussex County Council (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Burgess Hill Town Centre Partnership (PDF)

London Meed (PDF)

Westgate Residents Association (PDF)

Political Groups:

Burgess Hill Labour Party (PDF)

Burgess Hill Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Crawley Borough Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Crawley Conservative Association (PDF)

Horsham Denne NC (PDF)

Horsham Trafalgar Neighbourhood Council (PDF)

Mid Sussex Conservative Association (PDF)

MP:

Henry Smith MP (PDF)


On 15 December 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of West Sussex County Council. Between 15 December 2015 and 8 February 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    Draft recommendations for West Sussex County Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for West Sussex

*    Letter sent to the Chief Operating Officer of West Sussex County Council (PDF)

*    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 31 August 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Dawson E (PDF)

Edgington P (PDF)

Fippard C (PDF)

Lerossignol H (PDF)

Oakley S (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Littlehampton Town Council (PDF)

North Horsham Parish Council (PDF)

Shipley Parish Council (PDF)

Turners Hill Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

West Sussex County Council (PDF)

District Councils

Arun District Council (PDF)

Crawley Borough Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Coastal West Sussex CCG (PDF)

Political Groups

Burgess Hill Branch Labour Party (PDF)

West Sussex County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Late submissions

Councillor Crow (PDF)

On 23 June 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of electoral divisions for West Sussex County Council. Between 23 June and 31 August 2015, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 70 county councillors in the future, one fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across West Sussex to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 70 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Operating Officer of West Sussex County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note that the information was provided to us by West Sussex County Council and was updated on 17 July 2015.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with West Sussex County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on West Sussex County Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

West Sussex County Council (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of West Sussex County Council on 26 February 2008. The review was completed on 14 November 2008.

On 11 February 2009 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the Boundary Commitee for England's recommendations for the new electoral arrangements for the County of West Sussex, without modification. Print and web versions of the order to give effect to this decision is published by the Office of Public Sector Information. The Order refers to Sheet 1 (PDF), Sheet 2 (PDF), Sheet 3 (PDF), Sheet 4 (PDF), Sheet 5 (PDF), Sheet 6 (PDF) , Sheet 7 (PDF) and Sheet 8 (PDF) of the Order Map.

Final recommendations (PDF) and an executive summary (PDF) were published on 14 November 2008.

Maps of the area: Map 1 (PDF), Map 2 (PDF), Map 3 (PDF), Map 4 (PDF), Map 5 (PDF)

Draft recommendations (PDF) and an executive summary (PDF) were published on 1 July 2008.

Maps of the area: Map 1 (PDF), Map 2 (PDF), Map 3 (PDF), Map 4 (PDF) and Map 5 (PDF).

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

The previous review of West Sussex County Council was completed on 14 September 2004.

Final recommendations (PDF), published on 14 September 2004.

Map sheet 1 (PDF)   inserted at the back of this report illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for West Sussex, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map sheet 2 (PDF) contains three seperate maps. Map 1illustrates the proposed boundary between the proposed Kingston Buci, Southwick and Shoreham divisions in Adur district. Map 2   illustrates the boundary between the proposed Littlehampton East and Rustington divisions in Arun district. Map 3 illustrates the boundaries between the proposed Worthing East, Worthing Pier and Worthing West divisions in Worthing borough.

Draft recommendations (PDF), published on 24 February 2004.

Sheet 1 (PDF), illustrates the proposed divisions in all of West Sussex.

Sheet 2 (PDF), illustrates some of the proposed boundaries in Adur, Arun and Worthing districts.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published in July 1994