LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Horsham

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Horsham District Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Horsham.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13 July 2017 the Horsham (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Horsham and published on 13 June 2017.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Horsham in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here.

On 13 June 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Horsham District Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Horsham

·         Summary of the Horsham report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Horsham District Council

·         Overview map of the Horsham District Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files used for the consultation portal can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Horsham. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Horsham District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 3 April 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Horsham District Council

West Sussex County Council

Councillors:

Cllr Dennis

Neighbourhood, Parish and Town Councils:

Amberley Parish Council

Billingshurst Parish Council

Broadbridge Heath Parish Council

Henfield Parish Council

Horsham Denne Neighbourhood Council

Horsham Forest Neighbourhood Council

Horsham Trafalgar Neighbourhood Council

North Horsham Parish Council

Nuthurst Parish Council

Southwater Parish Council

Wiston Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr Birnstingl, S

Mr Newman, G

Mr Sitton, G

Ms Wilding, L


On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Horsham District Council. These can be found using the links below. 

·         Draft recommendations for Horsham District Council (PDF)

·         Summary of the Horsham report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Horsham District Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Horsham District Council (PDF)

·         An overview map of Horsham District Council draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 5 December 2016.

 Below are all of the submissions we received.

Local Authority:

Horsham District Council

Councillors:

Cllr Skipp

Local Organisations:

Horsham Denne Neighbourhood Council

Horsham Trafalgar Neighbourhood Council

Parish and Town Councils:

Amberley Parish Council

Billingshurst Parish Council

North Horsham Parish Council

Rusper Parish Council

Shipley Parish Council

Thakeham Parish Council

Washington Parish Council

West Grinstead Parish Council

Local Residents:

Ms Brooks, B

Mr Sitton, G


On 27th September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Horsham District Council. Between 27th September 2016 and 5th December 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Horsham District Council should have 47 councillors in the future, which is an increase of 4.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Horsham to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Horsham District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Horsham District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Horsham District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Horsham District Council).

We received one submission on council size:

An electoral review of Horsham  was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission on 1 April 2002, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF) was published on 09 July 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Horsham; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Horsham; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas, which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)
Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Henfield parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Horsham town; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published on 26 February 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Horsham; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Horsham; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Henfield parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the Horsham town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates from:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 September 2016
5 December 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
7 February 2017
3 April 2017
Final recommendations
13 June 2017