LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Crawley

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Crawley Borough Council.


The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Crawley.

On 30 January 2018, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Crawley Borough Council. Between 30 January 2018 and 9 April 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Crawley Borough Council should have 36 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Crawley to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 36 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Crawley Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Crawley Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Crawley polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Crawley electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Crawley)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Crawley Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Crawley Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size: 

Crawley Borough Council

Crawley Conservative Group 

An electoral review of Crawley was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission on 1 April 2002, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF) was published on 09 July 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Crawley; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Crawley; (PDF)

Large map (7.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the Crawley town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 26 February 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Crawley; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Crawley; (PDF)

Large map (7.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the Crawley town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from: Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 30 January 2018 9 April 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations 5 June 2018 13 August 2018
Final recommendations published 2 October 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more