Draft and final recommendation reports for Chichester, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Chichester

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission's electoral review of Chichester was completed in March 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Chichester councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Chichester (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Chichester, was made on 30 March 2017.

New ward arrangements for Chichester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The order for Chichester can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/475

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 February 2017 the Chichester (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Chichester, which were published on 6 December 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Chichester in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here: 

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153727

On 6 December 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Chichester District Council. The report is available in the link below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Newcastle upon Tyne. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Chichester District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on the 10 October 2016.

Below are the submissions that we received:

Local Authorities:

West Sussex County Council

Chichester District Council

Councillors:

Cllr Fortin

Cllr Radley

Cllr Shaxon

Parish and Town Councils:

Bosham Parish Council

Chichester City Council

Chidham & Hambrook Parish Council

Elsted & Treyford Parish Council

Fishbourne Parish Council

Harting Parish Council

Midhurst Town Council

Selsey Town Council

Sidlesham Parish Council

Trotton with Chithurst Parish Council

Wisborough Green Parish Council

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to thier relevant submission:

Local Residents


On 16 August 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Chichester District Council. Between 16 August 2016 and 10 October 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found at the links below.

An overview map of the draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on the 4 April 2016.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on warding arrangements.

Local Residents 

Moncreiff A

Perry P

Wilson D

Town and Parish Councils

Fishbourne Parish Council

Selsey Town Council

Sidlesham Parish Council

Steadham with Iping Parish Council

Trotton with Chithurst Parish Council

West Wittering Parish Council

Councillors

Purnell and Wilson

Local Authorities

Chichester District Council

West Sussex County Council

 



On 26 January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Chichester District Council. Between 26 January and 4 April 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Chichester District Council should have 36 councillors in the future, 12 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Chichester to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 36 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Chichester District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Chichester District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Chichester District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Chichester was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission on 1 April 2002, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF) was published on 09 July 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Chichester; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Chichester; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed boundary between Selsey North and Selsey South wards; (PDF)

Large map (2.6 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for the Chichester City area; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 26 February 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Chichester; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Chichester; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed boundary between Selsey North and Selsey South wards; (PDF)

Large map (2.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the Chichester City area. This may take some time to download; (PDF)