Draft and final recommendation reports for Arun, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Arun

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Arun between February 2012 - November 2013. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Arun councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Arun, was made on 30 October 2013 and was published 4 November 2013.

New ward arrangements for Arun have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Arun can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/2794/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 18 July 2013 The Arun (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in 2013 and published on 26 February 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Arun in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111101834/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 26 February 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Arun District Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. 

Below is an overview map of final recommendations; click on the image for more detail.

Arun wire frame

We have now completed our electoral review of Arun District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015. 

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 4 September 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Arun District Council. Between 4 September  2012 and 3 December 2012,  we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Map of the area recommendations:

Please note: these maps may be large and take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Consultation closed 3 December 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

MP and Councillors

Sir Peter Bottomley MP (PDF)

We received 13 individual submissions from councillors including 1 feedback form from ward councillors across the Arun District. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Councillors (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 11 submissions from parish and town councils . All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

Flansham Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 77 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in two separate PDF documents. At the front of each document there are a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents - surnames A - H (PDF)

Local Residents - surnames H - W (PDF) 

Following preliminary discussions with Arun District Council, on 28 February 2012 we started a period of information gathering. Between 28 February and 7 May 2012, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new ward arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Arun; how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

Consultation closed on 7 May 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Arun District Council (PDF) along with Appendices (PDF)

Political groups & councillors

A joint submission from the Liberal Democrat, Labour and Independent Groups on Arun District Council (PDF)

Cllr English (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Arundel town council (PDF)

Bognor Regis town council (PDF)

Clymping parish council (PDF)

Kingston parish council (PDF)

Littlehampton town council (PDF)

Yapton parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Edgington P (PDF)

Watson G (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Arun District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on why Arun is being reviewed.

The Commission is minded to recommend a council size of 53 for Arun, following the receipt of evidence supporting this number from Arun District Council.

You may find maps of the existing electoral wards (PDF) and parishes (PDF) in Arun useful. Here are the electorate figures (XLS) for Arun District Council.

Our techinical guidance: Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

An electoral review of Arun started on 10 July 2001.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF) was published on 09 July 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Arun; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Arun; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large maps at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Yapton parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.75 Mb) illustrate the proposed warding arrangements for Aldwick, Bognor Regis, Littlehampton, Rustington and East Preston; (PDF)

Draft report was published on 26 February 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Arun; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Arun; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large maps; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Yapton parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Aldwick, Bognor Regis, Littlehampton, Rustington and East Preston. This may take some time to download; (PDF)