Draft and final recommendation reports for Woking, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Woking

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Woking between Sepetember 2013 - July 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Woking councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Woking (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Woking, was made on 29th June 2015 and was published 7th July 2015. New ward arrangements for Woking have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Woking can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1462/contents/made

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 19 March 2015 the Woking (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Woking and published on 2 March 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Woking in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111133873/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On the 2 March 2015 the Commission published an erratum to the final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for Woking Borough Council. This erratum relates specifically to Canalside and Horsell wards.

The document is available on the following link:

Erratum to the final recommendations for Woking Borough Council (PDF)

On 20 January 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Woking Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Woking Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Woking Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Woking Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6 October 2014

On 15 July 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Woking Borough Council. Between 15 July 2014 and 6 October 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Woking Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Woking

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Woking Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

West Byfleet Councillors (PDF)

Local authority

Woking Borough Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Local Organisations (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents submissions have been grouped together by surname.

A (PDF)

B (PDF)

C (PDF)

D (PDF)

E-G (PDF)

H (PDF)

L-M (PDF)

N-P (PDF)

R-S (PDF)

T-V (PDF)

W (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF) 

Petitions

The following petitions have been submitted by different groups

Residents of Woodlands Avenue & Hollies Avenue West Byfleet (PDF)

Residents of The Grove & Ferndale Road (PDF)

Residents of Old Avenue, Woodlands Avenue & Hollies Avenue West Byfleet (PDF)

Political parties

Woking Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Woking Liberal Democratic Party (PDF)


On 14 January 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Woking Council. Between 14 January 2014 and 1 April 2014, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Woking Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

The consultation is currently closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Local Residents

We have received 68 submissions from local residents and have categorised them alphabetically.

Surnames A - C

Surnames E - L

Surnames M - R

Surnames S - W

Local Organisations

Local organisations

Councillors

Cllr. Branagan

MP

Jonathan Lord MP

Local Authority

Woking Borough Council

If you have any queries relating to this submission, you can visit www.woking.gov.uk

Council size consultation

On 24 September 2013 we started an electoral review of Woking Borough Council. From 24 September 2013 to 11 November 2013 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Woking in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Woking Borough Council. Their submission is available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 30 members for Woking Borough Council.

Consultation closed 11 November 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Woking Borough Council (PDF)

Local residents

We received 16 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the font of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Bowes (PDF)

Cllr Branagan (PDF)

Cllr Hunwicks (PDF)

Cllr Whitehand (PDF)

Local Organisations

Knaphill Residents Association (PDF)

St Johns Care (PDF)

Woking Chamber of Trade (PDF)

Political Groups and MPs

Jonathon Lord MP (PDF)

Woking Conservative Constituency Association (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Come back in January 2014 for the next stage of the consultation on ward boundaries. Register through the portal to receive a consultation reminder.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation in early 2014.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in Woking. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Woking Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Woking Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Woking Borough Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 2 September 1997.

Final report, (PDF) published in September 1998

Draft report, (PDF) published in March 1998.