LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Surrey Heath

image map

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Surrey Heath Borough Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. 

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Surrey Heath. 

The consultation on further limited draft recommendations for Surrey Heath closed on 10 July 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Councillors:

Cllrs Perry and Brooks

Cllrs for Old Dean, St Paul's and Town Wards

Local Organisations:

Surrey Heath Electoral Services

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below, by surname, alphabetically:

A to I

J to Z


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England opened a new phase of public consultation for the review of the Surrey Heath Borough Council electoral ward boundaries.

The consultation focused on new proposals for borough ward boundaries in Town & Crawley Hill, Old Dean, and St Pauls.

Earlier this year, the Commission held a public consultation on proposals for new ward boundaries across Surrey Heath. The Commission listened to the views put to it during consultation and proposed to make changes to the plans to reflect the local evidence received.

Due to the significance of the proposed changes made for the areas of Town & Crawley Hill, Old Dean and St Pauls, the Commission opened an extra phase of consultation for these areas only to see what local people think of the new recommendations. 

Between 13 June 2017 and 10 July 2017 we invited comments on our further limited consultation on draft recommendations.

The Commission was satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral wards for the rest of the borough and did not therefore consider representations about those areas which are not the subject of this extra consulation. The Commission will publish its final recommendations for the whole the borough on 29 August 2017.

You can read more about the further limited draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of Surrey Heath Borough Council

·         Draft recommendations map for Town & Crawley Hill, Old Dean and St Pauls

·         Further limited draft recommendations map for Town & Crawley Hill, Old Dean and St Pauls

You can also read our news release for further information.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 20 March 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received in regards to our draft recommendations:

Local Authority:

Surrey Heath Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr R Bates

Cllr V Chapman

Cllr E Hawkins

Cllr J Hawkins

Cllr D Ratiram

Cllrs J Lytle, P Ilnicki and I Cullen

Cllrs V Wheeler and P Tedder

Local Organisations:

Surrey Heath Electoral Services

West End Action Group

Parish and Town Councils:

Bisley Parish Council

Chobham Parish Council

West End Parish Council

Windlesham Parish Council

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names which links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents

This includes one anonymous submission found here.


On 24 January 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Surrey Heath Borough Council. Between 24 January 2017 and 20 March 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. The recommendations can be found using the links below. 

·         Draft recommendations for Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF)

·         Summary of Surrey Heath draft recommendations

·         News release on draft recommendations for Surrey Heath Borough Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF)

·         An overview map of Surrey Heath Borough Council draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on 10 October 2016.

Below are the submissions that we received:

Local Authorities:

Surrey Heath Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Bates

Cllr Gibson

Cllr Hawkins

Cllr Ivison

Cllrs Ilnicki, Cullen and Lyttle

Cllrs Tedder and Wheeler

Cllr Wheeler

Local Organisations:

Heatherside Residents Forum

Surrey Heath PCC

Parish Councils:

Bisley Parish Council

Chobham Parish Council

West End Parish Council

Local Residents:

Local Residents


On 26 July 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Surrey Heath Borough Council. Between 26 July and 10 October 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Surrey Heath Borough Council should have 34 councillors in the future, which is six fewer than at present.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Surrey Heath to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Surrey Heath Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Surrey Heath Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Surrey Heath Borough Council). 

We recieved 2 submissions on council size: 


This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 2 September 1997.

Final report, published in September 1998.

Draft report, published in March 1998.

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 July 2016
10 October 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
24 January 2017
20 March 2017
Consultation on further draft recommendations
13 June 2017 10 July 2017
Final recommendations published
29 August 2017