LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Surrey County Council (FER)

Recommendations became law

The Surrey (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Surrey, was made on 10 July 2012 and was published on 20 July 2012.

New electoral division arrangements for Surrey have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Surrey can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/1872/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 May 2012 the Surrey (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Surrey and published 17 January 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Surrey in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Surrey

On 17 January 2012 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Surrey County Council. These are available through the links below:

You can view the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of the maps are very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Surrey County Council. The changes we have made must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Stage Three

Draft recommendations

On 19 July 2011, we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Surrey County Council. Between 19 July and 10 October we invited comments on the division boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 October

Below are the representations we received:

Local Authorities

Surrey County Council (PDF)

Epsom & Ewell Borough Council (PDF)

Mole Valley District Council (PDF) and further letter sent by group leaders (PDF)

Reigate & Banstead Borough Council (PDF)

Surrey Heath Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

We received 37 submissions from Councillors, MPs and Political Groups, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All Councillors, MPs and Political Groups (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 16 submissions from Parish and Town Councils, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

We received 14 submissions from Local Organisations, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All Local Organisations (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 281 submissions from Local Residents, which are grouped by surname in the below PDF files:

Local Residents A-Br (PDF)

Local Residents Br-Ea (PDF)

Local Residents Ed-Ho (PDF)

Local Residents Ho-Me (PDF)

Local Residents Me-Re (PDF)

Local Residents Ri-Th (PDF)

Local Residents Th-Yo (PDF)

We also received standard letters relating to the Kingswood area, which are grouped in this PDF file:

Kingswood Standard Letters (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Map 1 - Overview of Surrey (PDF)

Maps 2a, 2b, 2c and 2d - Maps of Camberley town, south east of Surrey Heath borough, west of Guildford borough, and Guildford town (PDF)

Map 3 -  the towns of Ashford, Egham, Staines and Sunbury (PDF)

Maps 4a, 4b and 4c - Maps of south east of Runnymede borough, and the north west and north east of Elmbridge borough (PDF)

Map 5 - the towns of Leatherhead and Oxshott (PDF)

Maps 6a, 6b and 6c - Maps of Epsom and Ewell borough, the north of Reigate and Banstead borough, and Woking town (PDF)

Maps 7a, 7b and 7c - Maps of north of Tandridge district, central Reigate and Banstead borough, and Horley town (PDF) 

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

If you would like to have your say on the draft recommendations, please contact us at:

The Review Manager (Surrey)
The Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street
London
EC1M 5LG

Or e-mail us at reviews@lgbce.org.uk

Stage One

On 11 January 2011, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Surrey County Council. Between 11 January and 4 April, we are inviting comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Surrey County Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 4 April 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authorities

Surrey County Council (PDF) 

Surrey Heath District Council (PDF)

Tandridge District Council (PDF) 

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

Cllr Bates (PDF)

Cllr Bowes (PDF) 

Cllr Dennis (PDF

Cllr Hack (PDF)

Cllr Hickman (PDF)

Cllr Marks (PDF)

Cllr Watson (PDF)

Mole Valley Liberal Democrat group (PDF) 

Woking Conservative Association, Cllr Carasco and J Lord MP (PDF) 

Joint letters by current and former Councillors for Horsell Division (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Capel Parish Council (PDF)

Caterham on the Hill Parish Council (PDF)

Churt Parish Council (PDF)

Horne Parish Council (PDF)

Lingfield Parish Council (PDF)

Ripley Parish Council (PDF)

Tandridge Parish Council (PDF) 

Titsey Parish Council (PDF)

West Horsley Parish Council (PDF)

Windesham Parish Council (PDF)

Woldingham Parish Council (PDF) 

Local Organisations

Cuddington Residents Association (PDF)

Egham Residents Association (PDF)

Ewell Court Residents Association (PDF)

Farnham Society (PDF)

Horsell Residents Association (PDF) 

Lower Kingswood Residents Association (PDF)

Nork Residents Association (PDF)

Residents Association of Epsom and Ewell (PDF)

Rowledge Residents Association (PDF)

Shepperton Residents Association (PDF)

Tattenhams Residents Association (PDF)

Woldingham Association (PDF)

Local Residents

W Bentall (PDF)

G Devine (PDF) and clarification (PDF) 

A Pirie (PDF)

K Randolph (PDF) 

M Richardson (PDF) 

T Servant (PDF)

Preliminary council size consultation

On 12 October 2010 we started an electoral review of Surrey County Council. From 12 October 2010 to 22 November 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Surrey during two further periods of consultation later in 2011.

Local authority 

Surrey County Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Betchworth parish council (PDF)

Capel parish council (PDF)

Churt parish council (PDF)

Horley town council (PDF)

Salfords & Sidlow parish council (PDF)

Councillor 

Cllr Tomlinson (PDF)

Local organisations

Brookwood Village Association (PDF)

Fetcham Residents Association (PDF)

FLG Community Association (PDF)

P Marriott (PDF)

Resident Association of Epsom & Ewell (PDF)

Stoneleigh & Auriol Residents Association (PDF)

West Ewell & Ruxley Residents Association (PDF) 

Local residents

A Crisp (PDF) 

C Coleman (PDF)

V Gale (PDF)

D Hutchinson (PDF)

D Read (PDF) 

J Sharpely (PDF)

F Vail (PDF)

R Webb (PDF)

The below links contain information on this review:

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Surrey County Council (PDF)

Read our news-release

You may find maps of Surrey's divisions (PDF), parishes (PDF) and unparished areas (PDF) useful. Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Surrey including the County council's projected electoral forecast for 2016. Please note the electoral figures have been updated as of 28 February 2011, this is due to further evidence received from the authority

Click here to use our online form to give your views on Surrey. 

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: