LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Reigate and Banstead

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Reigate and Banstead Borough Council. 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Reigate and Banstead.




On 30 January 2018, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Reigate and Banstead Borough Council. Between 30 January 2018 and 9 April 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Reigate and Banstead Borough Council should have 45 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Reigate and Banstead to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Reigate and Banstead Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Reigate and Banstead Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Reigate and Banstead polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Reigate and Banstead electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Reigate and Banstead)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower



   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Reigate and Banstead Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Reigate and Banstead Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size:

Reigate and Banstead Borough Council

Residents' Association Group

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 2 September 1997.

Final report, (PDF) published in September 1998

Draft report, (PDF) published in March 1998.

Review Dates

Date from: Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 30 January 2018 9 April 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations 5 June 2018 13 August 2018
Final recommendations published 2 October 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more