LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Elmbridge

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Elmbridge Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each borough councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across the borough.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Elmbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Elmbridge, was made on 3rd March 2016 and was published in March 2016. New ward arrangements for Elmbridge have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Elmbridge can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/301/introduction/made


Draft order laid in Parliament

On 11the January 2016 the Elmbridge  (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in 2016 and published on 5th January 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Elmbridge Borough Council in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111142677/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 5th January 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Elmbridge Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Elmbridge Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 24th August 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local residents - surnames A - B (PDF)

Local residents - surnames C - D (PDF)

Local residents - surnames E - G (PDF)

Local residents - surnames H - J (PDF)

Local residents - surnames K - M (PDF)

Local residents - surnames N - R (PDF)

Local residents - surnames S - T (PDF)

Local residents - surnames U - V (PDF)

All 21 of the anonymous submissions we received are contained in the documents below.

Anonymous (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Bax (PDF)

Cllr Bruce (PDF)

Cllr Cheyne (PDF)

Cllr Cross (PDF)

Cllr Elmer (PDF)

Cllr Haig (PDF)

Cllr Hickman (PDF)

Cllr Kelly (PDF)

Cllr Lake (PDF)

Cllr Selleck (PDF)

Cllr Shipley (PDF)

Cllr Szanto (PDF)

Cllr Turner (PDF)

Local organisations

Cranmere Primary School (PDF)

Lynwood Rd Residents Association (PDF)

Parochial Church of Esher (PDF)

Whiteley Village Homes Trust (PDF)

Womens Wednesday Fellowship (PDF)

Political Groups

Elmbridge Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)

Esher Residents Association (PDF)

Hersham Residents Association (PDF)

Hinchley Wood Residents Association (PDF)

Molesey Residents Association (PDF)

St George's Hill Independents (PDF)

Thames Ditton And Weston Green (1) (PDF)

Thames Ditton And Weston Green (2) (PDF)

Thames Ditton And Weston Green (3) (PDF)

The Walton Society (PDF)

MP 

Dominic Raab MP (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Claygate Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

Petition

We received a petition called Keep Hersham Library in Hersham Campaign. The submission can be found below.

Keep Hersham Library in Hersham Campaign (PDF)

We received a petition signed by 141 residents from Whiteley Village requesting that they remain in Hersham for voting purposes. The submission can be found below.

Whiteley Village Boundary Petition (PDF)

We received a petition signed by 50 residents from Queens Reach Residents/ Hampton Court Parade/ Waterside and Other Concerned Residents that opposed any changes to their current boundaries. The submission can be found below.

Queens Reach Residents/ Hampton Court Parade/ Waterside and Other Concerned Residents (PDF)

Late submission

Maher S (PDF)

Consultation closed on 24 August 2015

On 30 June 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Elmbridge Borough Council. Between 30 June 2015 and 24 August 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Elmbridge Borough Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Elmbridge Borough Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when considering our draft recommendations. The forecasts can be found here (XLS).

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 3 February 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Elmbridge Council. Between 3 February 2015 and 31 March 2015, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

 The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the council should have 48 borough councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Elmbridge to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 borough councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All the local resident submissions can be located in four documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents - surnames A-C (PDF)

Local residents - surnames D- K (PDF)

Local residents - surnames L-R (PDF)

Local residents - surnames S-Z (PDF)

Local organisations

All the local organisation submissions can be found in one document.

Local organisations (PDF)

We also received a submission from St George's Hill Independents.

St George's Hill Independents (PDF)

We also received a submission from Councillor Selleck and Councillor Sadler on behalf of the resident associations with members on Elmbridge Borough Council.

Resident Associations (PDF)

Councillor

All the councillor submissions can be found in one document.

Councillors (PDF)

Political groups and MPs

D Raab MP (PDF)

Cobham Downside Oxshott Stoke D'Abernon Labour Party (PDF)

Elmbridge Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Esher and Walton Conservatives (PDF)

Parish Council

Claygate Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

Petition

We received a petition from St Georges Hill Independents signed by 112 residents requesting that the St George's ward retain the name St George's.

Petition (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Elmbridge Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Elmbridge Borough Council). We received 3 submissions on council size.

Elmbridge Borough Council (PDF)

Elmbridge Residents Group (PDF)

Cllr Sadler (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 2 September 1997.

Final report, (PDF) published in September 1998

Draft report, (PDF) published in March 1998.