Draft and final recommendation reports for Vale of White Horse, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Vale of White Horse

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Vale of White Horse between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Vale of White Horse councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in the Vale of White Horse, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014). New ward arrangements for the Vale of White horse have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2015.

The order for the Vale of White Horse can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/24/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 6 November 2013 the Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in the Vale of White Horse and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for the Vale of White Horse in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105269/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Vale of White Horse District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Vale of White Horse District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Vale of White Horse District Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Vale of White Horse District Council (PDF)

Local councillors

Cllr De Vere (PDF)

Cllr Godden (PDF)

Cllr Hallett (PDF)

Cllr Halliday (PDF)

Cllr Hoddinott (PDF)

Cllr Patrick (PDF)

Cllr Ware (PDF) 

Parish councillor Bowring (PDF)

Parish councillor Charlett (PDF)

Parish councillor Greenman (PDF)

Parish councillor Landau (PDF)

Parish councillor Legge (PDF)

Parish councillor Zipson (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 17 submissions from parish and town councils. These are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

We also received an additional submission.

Wantage Town Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Drayton 2020 (PDF)

Drayton Community Trust (PDF)

Harcourt Hill Estate Residents Association (PDF)

SPADE (PDF)

The Sprout (PDF)

Local residents

We received submissions from local residents. These submissions are contained in the below documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A - L (PDF)

Local residents M - Y (PDF)

Draft recommendation documents:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Following preliminary discussions with Vale of White Horse District Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 28 August, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Vale of White Horse, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Vale of White Horse Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 38 for Vale of White Horse. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Vale of White Horse District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for Vale of White Horse you may find the electoral figures (PDF) useful.

Consultation closed 28 August 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Letter from Chief Executive of Vale of White Horse (PDF)

Council report (PDF)

Maps of the Council scheme, North Hinksey, Abingdon and Grove & Wantage (PDF)

Councillors and political groups

Cllr Waite & Cllr Turner (PDF)

Submissions from the Liberal Democrat Group


Cllr Webber Group Leader submission (PDF)

including Liberal Democrat Group proposals relating to:

Abingdon (PDF)

Cllr Hallett on Botley, Sunningwell and Hinksey Wards (PDF)

2018 projection figures (PDF)

Map of proposal for 10 single member wards (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 20 submissions from parish and town councils. 16 submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Submissions from Abingdon town council

Abingdon town council - initial submission (PDF)

Map of Abingdon - five two-member ward proposal (PDF)

Cllr Lovatt - Leader (PDF)

Abingdon town council - final submission (PDF)

Local residents

Legge L (PDF)

Newport B (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Vale of White Horse District Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Vale of White Horse.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ' council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Vale of White Horse District Council. This submission is available below. The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposal for a council size of 38 members for Vale of White Horse District Council.

Consultation closed 8 May 2012

Below are the submissions we received

Parish Town Councils

Abingdon Town Council (PDF)

Compton Beauchamp Parish (PDF)

Drayton Parish Council (PDF)

Kingston Bagpuize with Southmoor Parish Council (PDF)

Shrivenham Parish Council (PDF)

St Helen Without Parish Council (PDF)

Wootton Parish Council (PDF) 

Local Residents

Anonymous (PDF)

Bizzell P (PDF)

Leake J (PDF)

Newell R C (PDF)

Walton D (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Vale of White Horse District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 25 July 2000.

Final report (PDF), published on 7 August 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Vale of White Horse; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Vale of White Horse; (PDF)

Map A1 the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 to A5 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding for the Wantage area; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Longworth parish; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of St Helen without parish; (PDF)

Map A5 illustrates the proposed warding of Milton parish; (PDF)

Large map (2.76 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Abingdon; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 20 February 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in the Vale of White Horse; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for the Vale of White Horse; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for the Vale of White Horse: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding for the Wantage area; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Longworth parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of St Helen Without parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Milton parish; (PDF)

Large map (2.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Abingdon. This may take some time to download; (PDF)