Draft and final recommendation reports for South Oxfordshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Oxfordshire

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of South Oxfordshire between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each South Oxfordshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Oxfordshire, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014). New ward arrangements for South Oxfordshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2015.

The order for South Oxfordshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/23/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 6 November the South Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in South Oxfordshire and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Oxfordshire in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/23/contents/made

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Oxfordshire District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. Here you can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Oxfordshire District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Oxfordshire District Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Parish and Town Councils

We received 28 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

We also received the following submission which was uploaded late due to a technical error.

Rotherfield Peppard Parish Council (PDF)

Petitions

We received 70 signatures from Cuxham with Easington Parish Meeting opposing proposals to move it from the Watlington ward to the Chalgrove ward. The full petition is available in the link below. 

Cuxham with Easington Parish Meeting Petition (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Collett (PDF)

Cllr Harrison (PDF)

Cllr Quinton (PDF)

Cllr Stoves (PDF)

Local Organisations

Great Western Park Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 20 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

Click below to view the report, summary, news release and letter to the Chief Executive. 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. 

You may find the electoral figures for South Oxfordshire District Council (PDF) and a map of the existing wards and parishes (PDF) useful. Figures reflect the most up-to-date electorate projections for South Oxfordshire. These may differ from those used in our draft recommendations due to updated information received from South Oxfordshire District Council subsequent to the preparation of our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Parish and Town Councils

We received 28 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Petitions

We received 70 signatures from Cuxham with Easington Parish Meeting opposing proposals to move it from the Watlington ward to the Chalgrove ward. The full petition is available in the link below. 

Cuxham with Easington Parish Meeting Petition (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Collett (PDF)

Cllr Harrison (PDF)

Cllr Quinton (PDF)

Cllr Stoves (PDF)

Local Organisations

Great Western Park Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 20 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

Following preliminary discussions with South Oxfordshire District Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 28 August, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within South Oxfordshire, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from South Oxfordshire Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 36 for South Oxfordshire. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Oxfordshire Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for South Oxfordshire you may find the electoral figures (PDF)a map of the existing wards and parishes (PDF)useful.

Consultation closed on 28 August 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

South Oxfordshire District Council (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 20 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submission are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

Sweet R (PDF)

We also received the following submissions after the dealine of 28 August 2012:

Bix and Assendon Parish Council (PDF)

Cllr Harris (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of South Oxfordshire District Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent South Oxfordshire Council.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from South Oxfordshire District Council. This submission is available below. The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposal for a council size of 36 members for South Oxfordshire District Council.

Consultation closed 8 May 2012

Below are the Submissions we received 

Local Authority

Henley-on-Thames Town Council (PDF)

Wallingford Town Council (PDF)

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors

Cllr Kitson (PDF)

Local Organisations

Goring Village Hall Management Committee (PDF)

Sonning Common Village Hall Management Committee (PDF)

Parish Town Councils

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

All submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents

Barlow J N (PDF)

Cooper S & D (PDF)

Denning E (PDF)

Denning R (PDF)

Dragonetti P (PDF)

Jenkins D (PDF)

Stevenson M (PDF)

Vaughan D J (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Oxfordshire Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 25 July 2000.

Final report (PDF), published on 7 August 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in South Oxfordshire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for South Oxfordshire; (PDF)

Map A1 the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2, A3, A4 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Henley parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed boundary warding of Thame parish; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of Wallingford town; (PDF)

Large map (8.11 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Didcot; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 20 February 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in South Oxfordshire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for South Oxfordshire; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for South Oxfordshire: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed wardingfor of Henly parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Thame parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.4 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Didcot. This may take some time to download; (PDF)