Draft and final recommendation reports for Oxfordshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Oxfordshire County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Oxfordshire between October 2010 - July 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Oxfordshire represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Oxfordshire, was made on 10 July 2012.

New electoral division arrangements for Oxfordshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 3 May 2013.

The order for Oxfordshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/1812/contents/made 

Draft order laid on Parliament

On 14 May 2012 the Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Oxfordshire and published on 17 January 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Oxfordshire in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises of the following sheets:

Map 1 - Overview of Oxfordshire (PDF)

Map 2 - Map of Banbury (PDF)

Maps 3a, 3b and 3c - Maps of Bicester, Kidlington and Wallingford (PDF)

Maps 4a and 4b - Maps of Witney, and Cumnor and North Hinksey (PDF)

Map 5 - Map of the West of Oxford (PDF)

Map 6 - Map of the East of Oxford (PDF)

Maps 7a and 7b - Maps of Abingdon and Didcot (PDF)

On 17 January 2012 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Oxfordshire. These are available through the links below:

You can view the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of the maps are very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Oxfordshire County Council. The changes we have made must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 19 July 2011 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Oxfordshire County Council. Between 19 July and 10 October we invited comments on the division boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 October

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Cherwell District Council (PDF)

Oxfordshire City Council (PDF)

West Oxfordshire District Council (PDF)

MPs, councillors and political groups

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

MP's Councillors and Political groups (PDF)

Local organisations

Oxfordshire Association of Local Councils (PDF)

Parish and town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Cumnor Parish council Petition (PDF)

Local residents

All the submissions are contained in the documents below. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents A-M (PDF)

Local residents N-Z (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below. 

Draft recommendations for Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Clarification to the draft recommendations report: In paragraph 110 of the report (page 20) the name “Botley Row” should instead read “Cumnor Hill”. 

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Oxfordshire

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Maps of the area recommendations:

Map 1 - Overview of Oxfordshire (PDF)

Map 2 - map of Banbury (PDF) 

Maps 3a and 3b - maps of Bicester, and Kidlington (PDF)

Maps 4a and 4b - maps of Witney, and Cumnor and North Hinksey (PDF)

Map 5 - map of the west of Oxford (PDF)

Map 6 - map of the east of Oxford (PDF)

Maps 7a and 7b -  maps of Abingdon, and Didcot (PDF)

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

On 11 January 2011, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Oxfordshire County Council. Between 11 January and 4 April, we are inviting comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 4 April 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authorities

Oxfordshire County Council (PDF) 

Oxford City Council (PDF)

West Oxfordshire District Council (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

T Baldry MP (PDF)

Oxford City Liberal Democrat Group (PDF) 

Oxfordshire County Labour Party (PDF)

Oxfordshire Labour Group (PDF)

West Oxfordshire Conservatives (PDF) 

Cllr Atkins (PDF)

Cllr Fooks (PDF) 

Parish and Town Councils

All Parish and Town Council submissions (PDF)

Two further submissions were received from Parish and Town Councils:

Carleton Town Council (PDF)

Nuneham Courtenay Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents 

J Darke (PDF)

T Davidson (PDF)

N Fawcett (PDF)

J Halliday (PDF)

T Williamson (PDF)

On 12 October 2010 we started an electoral review of Oxfordshire County Council. From 12 October 2010 to 22 November 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Oxfordshire during two further periods of consultation later in 2011.

Local authorities: 

Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Oxford City Council (PDF)

West Oxfordshire District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Griffin (PDF)

Parish and town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Local residents

R Mann (PDF)

G Mardon (PDF)

D Walton (PDF)

The below links contain information on this review:

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Read our news-release

You may find maps of Oxfordshire's parishes (PDF) and unparished areas (PDF) useful. Click here for the electorate figures of the Oxfordshire parishes(PDF) in the maps. 

Click here to use our online form to give your views on Oxfordshire. 

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

The Boundary Committee for England began reviewing the electoral arrangements in Oxfordshire County Council on
4 February 2003.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising one sheet. For more information on how The Boundary Committee's final recommendations are made into Orders see the Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission website.

Final recommendations, published on 27 July 2004.

Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Oxfordshire County Council, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map 2 illustrates the  proposed electoral divisions in Banbury in Cherwell district and the boundary between the proposed North Hinksey & Wytham and Wootton divisions in Vale of White Horse district.

Draft recommendations, published on 13 January 2004.

Large map 1, illustrates the proposed divisions including constituent district wards and parishes.

large map 2,  illustrates some of the above divisions in more detail.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published 13 June 1994