LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Oxford

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Oxford City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflect the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Oxford.

On 9 January 2018, we started the first period of consultation for a new pattern of wards for Oxford City Council.

Between 9 January 2018 and 2 April 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Oxford City Council should have 48 councillors in the future. This is no change from the current number of councillors.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Oxford to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Oxford City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about wards arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Oxford City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Oxford City Council polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Oxford electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Oxford)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Oxford City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Oxford City Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 25 July 2000.

Final report (PDF), published on 7 August 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Oxford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Oxford; (PDF)

Large map (8.11 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Oxford City; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 20 February 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Oxford City; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Oxford City; (PDF)

Large map (7.1 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Oxford. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates From: Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements 9 January 2018
2 April 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations 5 June 2018
13 August 2018
Publication of final recommendations 2 October 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more