Draft and final recommendation reports for Cherwell, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cherwell

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Cherwell between January 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Cherwell councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Cherwell (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cherwell, was made on 5 November 2015 and was published in November 2015. New ward arrangements for Cherwell have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Cherwell can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1872/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15th July 2015 the Cherwell (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Cherwell and published on 12th May 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cherwell in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137888/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cherwell District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Cherwell District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Cherwell District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cherwell District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 9 December 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Cherwell District Council. Between 9 December 2014 and 16 February 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 16 February 2015.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councillor Shipway (PDF)

Town Councillor Kilsby  (PDF)

Local Authority

Cherwell District Council (PDF)

Oxfordshire County Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Banbury Town Council (PDF)

Oddington Parish Meeting (PDF)

Parish councils (PDF)

Political groups

Banbury Labour Party (PDF)

North Oxfordshire Conservatives (PDF)

Late submissions

We received 1 late submission from Hanwell Parish Council.

Hanwell Parish Council (PDF)

Between 9 December 2014 and 16 February 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations report for Cherwell District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Cherwell District Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cherwell District Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note this map was updated on 10 December 2014.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

On 29 April 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Cherwell District Council. Between 29 April 2014 and 7 July 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Burns A (PDF)

Coleman P (PDF)

Garnett S (PDF)

Morgan (PDF)

Rowland C (PDF)

Watts A (PDF)

Webb J (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Adderbury Parish Council (PDF)

Bicester Town Council (PDF)

Bloxham Parish Council (PDF)

Bodicote Parish Council (PDF)

Deddington Parish Council (PDF)

Drayton Parish Council (PDF)

Kidlington Parish Council (PDF)

Middleton Stoney Parish Council (PDF)

Milcombe Parish Council (PDF)

Parish and District Councillors

Councillor Reynolds (PDF)

Parish Councillor Furneaux (PDF)

Political Groups

Cherwell District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

North Oxfordshire Conservative Association (PDF)

Banbury Labour Group and Cherwell District Council Labour Group (PDF)

Local Authority

Cherwell District Council (PDF)


For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Cherwell District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.


On 7 January 2014 we started an electoral review of Cherwell District Council. From 7 January to 17 February we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Cherwell in the future.

Consultation closed on 17 February 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

Cllr Atack (PDF)

Cllr Cherry (PDF)

Cllr Reynolds (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Abrosden Parish Council (PDF)

Adderbury Parish Council (PDF)

Adderbury Parish Council (PDF)

Banbury Town Council (PDF)

Bloxham Parish Council (PDF)

Bodicote Parish Council (PDF)

Chesterton Parish Council (PDF)

Drayton Parish Council (PDF)

Kidlington Parish Council (PDF)

Shenington with Alkerton Parish Council (PDF)

Shutford Parish Council (PDF)

Yarnton parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

Finch M (PDF)

Sames D (PDF)

Watts A (PDF)

Watts M (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Cherwell District Council. Their submission is available below. The Commission has considered the submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 48 members for Cherwell District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2014.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in April 2014. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Cherwell District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Cherwell District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 25 July 2000.

Final report (PDF), published on 7 August 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Cherwell; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Cherwell; (PDF)

Large map (5.25 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Banbury, Bicester and Kidlington; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 20 February 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Cherwell; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Cherwell; (PDF)

Large map (4.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Banbury, Bicester and Kidlington. This may take some time to download; (PDF)