Draft and final recommendation reports for Tonbridge & Malling, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Tonbridge & Malling

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Tonbridge & Malling between October 2011 - January 2013. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Tonbridge & Malling councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Tonbridge & Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Tonbridge & Malling, was made on 16 January 2013.

New electoral ward arrangements for Tonbridge & Mallinghave now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections in 2015.

The order for Tonbridge & Malling can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/70/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2012 The Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Tonbridge and Malling and published on 3 October 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Tonbridge and Malling in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111531051/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111531051_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 3 October 2012, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Tonbridge & Malling. These are available through the links below.

Map of the area recommendations:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and 'Have your say'. 

We have now completed our electoral review of Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 17 April 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council further electoral review (FER). These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download. 

Consultation closed 25 June 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council letter (PDF)

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council submission (PDF)

MP, Political Groups, Councillors

Tracey Crouch MP (PDF)

Chatham and Aylesford Conservative Association (PDF)

Burham, Eccles and Wouldham Branch Committee of Chatham and Aylesford Conservative Association (PDF)

We received 19 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Councillors (PDF)

Parish Town Councils

We received 19 submissions from Parish, Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

Kings Hill Allotment and Garden Society (PDF)

Leybourne Chase Community Development Trust (PDF) 

Local Residents  

We received 34 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

On 17 January 2012 the Commission launched a period of information gathering with Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council. Between 17 January and 13 March we invited Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council to provide information to develop a new pattern of warding arrangements for Tonbridge & Malling.

Below is the submission we received:

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council (PDF)

Following preliminary discussions with Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council, we received the following submission:

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council (PDF)

The Commission was minded to recommend a council size of 53 for Tonbridge & Malling.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

An electoral review of Tonbridge and Malling District Council started 9 May 2000.

Final report was published 9 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Tonbridge & Malling; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Tonbridge & Malling; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Tonbridge & Malling: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed amended Golden Green ward of Hadlow parish (and the proposed ward boundaries of East Peckham & Golden Green ward); (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Mereworth Parish (and the proposed ward boundaries of Kings Hill ward); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed Snodland East and Snodland West borough and town wards; (PDF)

Large map (2.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the Tonbridge area. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Tonbridge & Malling; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Tonbridge & Malling; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Tonbridge & Malling: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed boundary between Golden Green and Hadlow Wards of Hadlow Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Mereworth Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Snodland Town; (PDF)

Large map (2.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the Tonbridge area. This may take some time to download; (PDF