Draft and final recommendation reports for Swale, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Swale

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Swale between September 2011 - November 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Swale councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Swale, was made on 29 November 2012 and was published on 4 December 2012.

New ward arrangements for Swale have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2015.

The order for Swale can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/2985/pdfs/uksi_20122985_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15 October 2012 the Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament. The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Swale and published on 22 August 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Swale in 2015.

The draft order can viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2012/9780111529553/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111529553_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises of the following sheet:

On 22 August 2012 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Swale Borough Council. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

On 14 November 2011 the Commission launched a period of information gathering with Swale Borough Council. From 14 November 2011 to 10 January 2012 we invited Swale Borough Council and members of the council to provide information to develop a new pattern of ward arrangements for Swale.

Letter sent the Chief Executive of Swale (PDF)

Below are the submissions we received:

Leader of Swale Borough Council and Conservative Party submission (PDF) and attached figures (XLS)

Member of the Independent Group - Cllr Bonney (PDF)

Liberal Democrat - Cllr Henderson (PDF)

The Labour Party - Cllr Truelove submission (PDF) and attached figures (XLS) 

On 12 September 2011 we started the electoral review for Swale Borough Council. During this six-week preliminary period, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements such as warding patterns during two further periods of consultation later in the process.  

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Swale Borough Council (PDF) 

Consultation closed on 3 October 2011

Below are the submissions we recieved

Parish and Town Councils

Bredgar Parish Council (PDF)

Faversham Town Council (PDF)

Graveney-with-Goodnestone Parish Council (PDF)

Ospringe Parish Council (PDF)

Selling Parish Council (PDF)

Teynham Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

C Carr (PDF)

J Christmas (PDF)

N Elbourn (PDF)

K & A Phillips (PDF)

I Russell (PDF)

M Sherwood (PDF)

E Stevens (PDF)

D Swain (PDF)

S White (PDF)

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

An electoral review of Swale District Council started 9 May 2000.

Final reports (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 (PDF) Existing wards in Swale; (PDF)

Map 2 (PDF) The Commission's final recommendations for Swale; (PDF)

Map A1 (PDF) Final recommendations for Swale: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 (PDF) Proposed boundary between Sheerness East and Sheerness West wards; (PDF)

Map A3 (PDF) Proposed warding of Minster-on-Sea parish; (PDF)

Large map (PDF) (4.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Faversham and Sittingbourne. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 (PDF) Existing wards in Swale; (PDF)

Map 2 (PDF) The Commission's draft recommendations for Swale; (PDF)

Map A1 (PDF) Draft recommendations for Swale: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 (PDF) Proposed boundary between Sheerness East and Sheerness West wards; (PDF)

Map A3 (PDF) Proposed warding of Minster-on-Sea parish; (PDF)

Large map (PDF) (4.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Faversham and Sittingbourne. This may take some time to download; (PDF)