LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Shepway

image map Final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Shepway District Council to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the district which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Shepway. Our review aims to ensure that each Shepway district councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Shepway, was made on 14 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014). New ward arrangements for Shepway have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Shepway can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1908/pdfs/uksi_20141908_en.pdf

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 May 2014 the Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Shepway and published on 14 January 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Shepway in 2015.

The order is accessible on the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111114773/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 14 January 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Shepway District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Shepway District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 18 June 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Shepway District Council. Between 18 June 2013 and 9 September 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed 9 September 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 13 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received submissions from:

P Gane (PDF)

S Scott (PDF)

P West (PDF)

R West (PDF)

C Woolford (PDF)

C Jeffrey (PDF)

R Joynes (PDF)

J Meek and D Saava (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Collier (PDF)

Cllr Dearden et al (PDF)

Cllr Mullard (PDF)

Cllr Newlands (PDF)

Cllr Tilson (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Elham Parish Council (PDF)

Folkestone Town Council (PDF)

Lydd Town Council (PDF)

New Romney Town Council (PDF)

Saltwood Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations and Political Groups

Coastal Community Group (PDF)

Folkestone and Hythe Labour Party (PDF)

Local Authority

Shepway District Council (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Click on the link to view Shepway's electorate figures (XLS). These figures were updated by Shepway District Council and were provided to the LGBCE on 9 May 2013.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with our draft recommendations click on our overview map of the recommendations:


On 29 January 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a patterns of wards for Shepway District Council. Between 29 January 2013 and 8 April 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for Shepway. 

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish and Town Councils

Burmarsh Parish Council (PDF)

Dymchurch Parish Council (PDF)

Folkestone Town Council (PDF)

Hawkinge Town Council (PDF)

Hythe Town Council (PDF)

Hythe Town Council - Cllr Schoner et al. (PDF)

Lydd Town Council (PDF) 

New Romney Town Council (PDF)

Postling Parish Council (PDF)

Saltwood Parish Council (PDF)

St Mary in the Marsh Parish Council (PDF)

Stelling Minnis Parish Council (PDF)

Swingfield Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Mullard 1 (PDF)

Cllr Mullard 2 (PDF)

Cllr Mullard 3 (PDF)

Cllr Carey (PDF)

Cllr Wallace (PDF)

Cllr Hills (PDF)

Cllrs Love (PDF)

Local Residents

Harrison C (PDF)

Kersey D (PDF)

Stuart D (PDF)

Last E (PDF)

Gane P (PDF)

Gibbs J (PDF)

Tillson R (PDF)

Topham G (PDF)

DeVille J (PDF)

Barkasz de Csenger (PDF)

Kewer M (PDF)

Faulkner P (PDF)

Local Authority, Political Groups and Local Organisations

Shepway District Council (PDF)

Shepway Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Folkestone and Hythe Labour Party (PDF)

Coastal Community Group (PDF)

We also received an anonymous submission

Anonymous (PDF)

Click on the links below to view more information about the review.

Click on the link to view Shepway's electorate figures (XLS). These figures were updated by Shepway District Council and were provided to the LGBCE on 9 May 2013.

On 23 October 2012 we started an electoral review of Shepway District Council. From 23 October 2012 to 3 December 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Shepway District Council. 

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Shepway District Council. The submission is available below; under preliminary council size.

The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposals for a council size of 30 members for Shepway District Council.

A letter to the Chief Executive of Shepway District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed 3 December 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Shepway District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr R Tillson (PDF)

Cllr S Carey (PDF)

Cllr H Barker (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

Dymchurch Parish Council (PDF)

Hythe Town Council (PDF)

Lyminge Parish Council (PDF)

Postling Parish Council (PDF)

St Mary in the Marsh Parish Council (PDF)

Stelling Minnis Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents 

We received 18 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation

We had a meeting with Shepway District Council in order to discuss their submission. The minutes from that meeting can be found here.

Minutes from meeting with Shepway District Council (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Shepway District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submission on council size. 

An electoral review of Shepway District Council started 9 May 2000.

Final report was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Shepway; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Shepway; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Shepway: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Hythe Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Lyminge parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of New Romney parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of St Mary in the Marsh parish; (PDF)

Large map (2.8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Folkestone. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report was published 14 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Shepway; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Shepway; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Shepway: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Hythe Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Lyminge Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of New Romney Parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of St Mary in the Marsh Parish; (PDF)

Large map (2.8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Folkestone. This may take some time to download; (PDF)