LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Dartford

image map View Existing Ward Boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Dartford Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Dartford.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Dartford Borough Council has now closed.


On 26 September 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Dartford Borough Council. Between 26 September 2017 and 4 December 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Dartford Borough Council should have 42 councillors in the future.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Dartford Borough Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

You can view the polling district maps below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Dartford Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Dartford polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Dartford Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Dartford Borough Council). We received 1 submissions on council size:

Council Size Submission

An electoral review of Dartford District Council started 9 May 2000.

Final report (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Dartford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Dartford; (PDF)

Large map (10.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Dartford; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Dartford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Dartford; (PDF)

Large map (10.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Dartford. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published 26 September 1995

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 26 September 2017
4 December 2017
Draft recommendations published 6 February 2018
16 April 2018
Final recommendations published 5 June 2018