Draft and final recommendation reports for Canterbury, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Canterbury

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Canterbury between June 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Canterbury councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Canterbury, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published on 22 December 2014. New ward arrangements for Canterbury have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Canterbury can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3336/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 23 October 2014 the Canterbury (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Canterbury and published on 12 August 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Canterbury in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122112/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 12 August 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Canterbury City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Canterbury City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Canterbury City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Canterbury City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 11 March 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Canterbury City Council. Between 11 March 2014 and 20 May 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 20 May 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 20 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Barnham Parish Council (PDF)

Bridge Parish Council (PDF)

Harbledown and Rough Common Parish Council (PDF)

Herne and Broomfield Parish Council (PDF)

Kingston Parish Council (PDF)

Thanington Without Parish Council (PDF)

Wickhambreaux Parish Council (PDF)

Womenswold Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

We received one submission from Alliance Canterbury Residents Association which can be found here (PDF) and a letter which can be found here (PDF)

Canterbury Society (PDF)

HIMN (PDF)

Political Groups

Canterbury and District Labour Party (PDF)

Canterbury and Coastal Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Thanet Conservative Association (PDF)

MP

J Brazier MP (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Sole (PDF)

Cllr Vickers (PDF)

Parish Councillor Gregory (PDF)

Parish Councillor Gallagher (PDF)

Local Authority

Canterbury City Council (PDF)

Our draft recommendations For Canterbury can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

The Council provided the Commission with revised electorate forecasts on 13 November. This was to ensure the forecasts took into account all future growth in electorate. The revised forecasts can be found here- updated electoral figures (XLS).

The previous electoral figures (XLS) can be found here. This is for information only - do not use these figures when formulating warding patterns.

On 24 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Canterbury City Council. Between 24 September 2013 and 10 December 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 December 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 22 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 11 submissions from parish and town councils.All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

We received 6 submissions from local organisations. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to relevant submissions.

Local organisations (PDF)

Political Groups

Canterbury City Council (PDF)

Canterbury Labour Group (PDF) and Canterbury Labour Group no.2 (PDF)

Canterbury Constituency Conservative Association (PDF)

Canterbury and Coastal Liberal Democrats (PDF)

North Thanet Conservative Association (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Canterbury City Council (PDF)

The Council provided the Commission with revised electorate forecasts on 13 November. This was to ensure the forecasts took into account all future growth in electorate. The revised forecasts can be found here- updated electoral figures (XLS).

The previous electoral figures (XLS) can be found here. This is for information only - do not use these figures when formulating warding patterns.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area.

On 25 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Canterbury City Council. From 25 June to 6 August we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Canterbury in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Canterbury City Council and the Canterbury City Council Liberal Democrat Group. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 38 members for Canterbury City Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Consultation closed on 6 August.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 32 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

We also received a submission from:

Terry A (PDF)

We received late submissions from:

Brown E (PDF)

Brown R (PDF)

Dixon A (PDF)

Hadley P (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr MacCaul (PDF)

Local Residents Associations

St Michael's Road Area Residents Association (PDF)

St Stephen's Residents Association (PDF)

South Canterbury Residents Association (PDF)

Market Way Area Residents Association (PDF)

Local Organisations and Political Groups

Canterbury Labour Party (PDF)

The Canterbury Society (PDF)

Oaten Hill and District Society (PDF)

The Wincheap Society (PDF)

Canterbury Branch of Protect Kent (PDF)

Southern Canterbury Alliance (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Bridge Parish Council (PDF)

Herne and Broomfield Parish Council (PDF)

Westbere Parish Council (PDF)

Chestfield Parish Council (PDF)

Wickhambreaux Parish Council (PDF)

Littlebourne Parish Council (PDF)

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September 2013. You can visit our consultation portal to register for a consultation reminder.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Canterbury City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

Canterbury City Council (PDF)

Canterbury City Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

 

An electoral review of Canterbury District Council started 9 May 2000.

Final report (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Canterbury; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Canterbury; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Canterbury: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Chartham Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Sturry Parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the city of Canterbury, and the towns of Herne Bay and Whitstable. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Canterbury; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Canterbury; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Canterbury: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Chartham Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Sturry Parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the city of Canterbury, and the towns of Herne Bay and Whitstable. This may take some time to download; (PDF)