The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Ashford District Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Ashford.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Ashford

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Ashford Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Ashford.

Recommendations become law

The Ashford (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Ashford Borough Council, was made on 5 November 2017.

New ward arrangements for Ashford have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The order for Ashford Borough Council can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/1066.

On 13 July 2017, the Ashford (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

Now that that draft order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Ashford, and published on 13 June 2017.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 13 June 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Ashford Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files of our final recommendations can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Allerdale Borough Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 3 April 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Councillors:

Cllr Barrett

Local Organisations:

Boughton Aluph & Eastwell Residents Association

North Willesborough Community Forum

Sandyhurst Lane Residents Association (1)

Sandyhurst Lane Residents Association (2)

South Ashford Community Forum

Parish and Town Councils:

Boughton Aluph and Eastwell Parish Council

Brabourne Parish Council

Great Chart with Singleton Parish Council (1)

Great Chart with Singleton Parish Council (2)

Great Chart with Singleton Parish Council (3)

Hothfield Parish Council

Newenden Parish Council

Smeeth Parish Council

Stanhope Parish Council

Westwell Parish Council

Wye with Hinxhill Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr and Mrs Beinart, J and M

Mr Clay, S

Ms Hall, J

Mr Morley, C

Mr Parker, D

Mr Pledge, G

Mr Wolfe Coe, R

Anonymous:

Anonymous


On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Ashford Borough Council. These can be found using the links below.

 

Draft recommendations for Ashford Borough Council (PDF)

Summary of the Ashford Borough Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Ashford Borough Council

 

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Ashford Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.


You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.


The consultation on the warding arrangements closed on 5 September 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the submission:

Local Authority:

Ashford Borough Council

Local Organisations:

Central Ashford Community Forum

Kennington Community Forum | Map

North Willesborough Community Forum

Sandyhurst Lane Residents Association | Map

South Ashford Community Forum

Parish and Town Councils:

Biddenden Parish Council

Boughton Aluph & Eastwell Parish Council

Egerton Parish Council

Westwell Parish Council

Local Residents:

Appleton J

Courtine P

Dunkerley F

Guy R

Hall B&J

Heuch J

Michael W

Middleton S

Penny S

Sander R

Tierney T 1

Tierney T 2

Wolverson I


On 28th June 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Ashford Borough Council. Between 28th June 2016 and 5th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. The consultation is now closed.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Ashford Borough Council should have 47 councillors in the future, which is an increase from its previous 43.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Ashford to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 47 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Ashford Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Ashford Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Ashford Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Ashford Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Ashford Borough Council started 9 May 2000

Final report (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Ashford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Ashford; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Ashford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed borough and parish warding of Tenterden; (PDF).

Map A3 Proposed borough and parish warding of Charing; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashford town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report  (PDF) was published 17 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Ashford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Ashford; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Ashford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed borough and parish warding of Tenterden; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed borough and parish warding of Charing; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashford town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date From:
Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 June 2016
5 September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
7 February 2017
3 April 2017
Final recommendations
13 June 2017