Draft and final recommendation reports for Winchester, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Winchester

image map View Final Recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Winchester between August 2014 - December 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Winchester councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.


Recommendations become law

The Winchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Winchester, was made on 11 December 2015 and was published in December. New division arrangements for Winchester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Warwickshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/2063/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 28 October 2015 the Winchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Winchester and published on 30 June 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Winchester in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111140208/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 30th June 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Winchester City Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Winchester City Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

 News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Winchester City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Winchester City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on 6 April 2015.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are contained in two documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents A-K (PDF)

Local residents L-Z (PDF)

Councillors

All submissions from councillors are contained in one document. At the front of thedocument is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Cllr Gottlieb (PDF)

Cllr Rutter (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

All submissions from parish and town councils are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Political groups

Winchester Conservative Association (PDF)

Winchester Conservative Association, Meon Valley Conservative Association and Conservative Members (PDF)

Winchester Labour Party (PDF)

Local Authority

Winchester City Council (PDF)

Local organisation 

Upper Itchen Valley Society (PDF)

On 10 February 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Winchester City Council. Between 10 February 2015 and 06 April 2015 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Winchester City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Winchester

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Winchester City Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.



On 26 August 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Winchester City Council. Between 26 August 2014 and 3 November 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the city council should have 45 city councillors in the future, twelve fewer than at present.

Winchester City Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Winchester City Council to help it to produce a new pattern of three-member wards to accommodate 45 city councillors.The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

Consultation closed on 3 November 2014

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

PCllr Taylor J (PDF)

PCllr Weston V (PDF)

Local authority

Winchester City Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Parish councils

Parish Councils PDF

Political associations

Conservation Association for Meon Valley and Winchester (PDF)

WCC Liberal Democratic group (PDF)


For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Winchester City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Winchester City Council. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the local authority and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Winchester City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Winchester City Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Winchester City Council (PDF)

Appendices (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 25 July 2000

Map 1: Existing wards in Winchester; (PDF)

Map 2: The Commission's final recommendations for Winchester; (PDF)

Map A1: Draft recommendations for Winchester: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2: Proposed boundary between Droxford, Soberton and Hambledon and Swanmore and Newtown wards; (PDF)

Map A3: Proposed boundary between Whiteley and Wickham wards; (PDF)

Large map (3.5 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Winchester city. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 22 February 2000