Draft and final recommendation reports for Rushmoor, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rushmoor

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Rushmoor between September 2010 - January 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Rushmoor councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Rushmoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Rushmoor, was made on 24 January 2012 and was published 27 January 2012.

New ward arrangements for Rushmoor have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 3 May 2012.

The order for Rushmoor can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/161/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 November 2011 the Rushmoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for Rushmoor click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Rushmoor and published on 18 October 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Rushmoor in 2012.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 18 October 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Rushmoor. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Rushmoor Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 24 May 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Rushmoor Borough Council. Between 24 May and 1 August, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 August 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF) 

Councillors & Political groups

Cllr Dibbs (PDF) 

Cllr Ferrier (PDF) 

Cllr Neal (PDF)

Second submission from Cllr Neal (PDF) 

Aldershot Liberal Democrats (PDF) 

Local Organisations

North Town Action group (PDF) 

Local Residents

S Harris (PDF) 

These recommendations can be found using the links below:

Maps of the areas recommendations:

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

On 30 November 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rushmoor Borough Council. Between 30 November and 21 February, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 21 February 2011. 

Below are the submissions we received:  

Local Authority

Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF) 

Local Organisations

North Town Action Group (PDF)

Aldershot Civic Society (PDF)

Local Residents

S Cornwall (PDF) 

S Dawson (PDF)

S Dawson - second submission (PDF) 

M Roberts (PDF)

On 14 September 2010 we started an electoral review of Rushmoor Borough Council. From 14 September 2010 to 25 October 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Rushmoor during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF)

Read our news-release 

Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Rushmoor. A map of polling districts in Rushmoor (XSL) may be useful. 

Consultation closed on 25 October 2010.

Below are the submissions we received: 

Local Authority

Rushmoor Borough Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Cargate Area Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

M Coule (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 25 July 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Rushmoor; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Rushmoor; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Rushmoor: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed boundary between St Mark's and Wellington wards (western part); (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed boundary between St Mark's and Wellington wards (eastern part); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed boundary between Manor Park, Rowhill and Wellington wards; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed boundary between Heron Wood, Manor Park and North Town wards; (PDF)

Large map (5.2 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Farnborough. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 18 January 2000