LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Hampshire

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Hampshire District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across East Hampshire.

On 3 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of East Hampshire District Council. Between 3 October 2017 and 11 December 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for East Hampshire District Council

·         Draft recommendations map for East Hampshire District Council Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the East Hampshire report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of East Hampshire District Council

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the East Hampshire electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (East Hampshire)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for East Hampshire closed on 14 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

East Hampshire District Council

Political Groups:

East Hampshire Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Budden

Cllr Cowper

Cllr Drew

Cllr Glass

Cllr Louisson

Cllr Johnson and Cllr Wren

Parish and Town Councils:

Alton Town Council

Bentley Parish Council

Bramshott and Liphook Parish Council

Buriton Parish Council

Clanfield Parish Council

Four Marks Parish Council

Grayshott Parish Council

Hawkley Parish Council

Liss Parish Council

Medstead Parish Council

Rowlands Castle Parish Council

Sheet Parish Council

Steep Parish Council

Stroud Parish Council

Local Residents:

Docker C

Green D

Nichols S

Pope A

Ranslet T

Taylor D

Thomas S

Williams A


On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for East Hampshire District Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that East Hampshire District Council should have 44 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across East Hampshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 44 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of East Hampshire District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by East Hampshire District Council and may contain boundary errors.

East Hampshire polling district map (JPEG)

Summary map of existing ward boundaries (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Hampshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on East Hampshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

 

East Hampshire District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 25 July 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in East Hampshire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for East Hampshire; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for East Hampshire: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Liss Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Horndean Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Horndean Parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Rowlands Castle Parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Alton, Petersfield and Whitehill. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 18 January 2000

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more