LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Basingstoke and Deane

image map

The Commission has paused its electoral review of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council.

 
At its meeting in February 2018, the Commission will consider evidence on the number of councillors who should be elected to the council in future. It will then open a new phase of consultation on ward boundaries.
 
On 28 November, the Commission announced its view that the council should have 54 councillors in future. It took the decision on the basis of evidence gathered at an earlier stage of the review. The Commission subsequently became aware that, due to an administrative error, the Commission had not considered the totality of evidence supplied by councillors and council groups before it took its decision. Due to the importance the Commission attaches to considering all submissions presented to it, it has decided to re-consider all the preliminary evidence before it takes its decision on councillor numbers again.
 
Once the Commission has taken its view on councillor numbers, we will start a new phase on ward boundaries and we will update the timetable for the review accordingly.
 
If you have already submitted views on new ward boundaries for the council, we will consider your representation when we draw up draft recommendations. You will also have another opportunity to participate in the consultation when we open it again in February. Anyone who has already participated in the review will be contacted to let them know when the review will re-start. 

 

 

On 28 November 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council. Between 28 November 2017 and 12 February 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council should have 54 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Basingstoke and Deane to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 54 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Basingstoke and Deane polling district map (General)

Basingstoke polling district map (Town)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Basingstoke and Deane electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

The Review Officer (Basingstoke and Deane)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th Floor Millbank Tower

Millbank

London

SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council). We received 3 submissions on council size, which can be found in the below combined file:

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council Council Size Submissions

We began a further electoral review (FER) of Basingstoke and Deane on 6 September 2005. We completed this review on 8 October 2007.

For more information see the FER press release.

On 12 December 2007 the Electoral Commission decided to accept or recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Basingstoke and Deane, without modification.

On 25 February 2008, the electoral change Order to implement the Electoral Commission's decision was made to establish the new district and parish wards by reference to the Order map.Web and print (PDF) versions of the Order are published by the Office of Public Sector Information. The map referred to in the Order comprises Sheet 1 (PDF), Sheet 2 (PDF), Sheet 3 (PDF), and Sheet 4 (PDF).

Final report (PDF) and summary (PDF) published 8 October 2007.

Sheet 1, Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Basingstoke & Deane borough, including constituent parishes.

Sheet 2, Map 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Tadley parish.

Sheet 3, Map 3 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Basingstoke town.

Sheet 4, Map 4 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Basingstoke town and Old Basing.

Draft report (PDF) andexecutive summary (PDF) published 27 February 2007.

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Basingstoke & Deane Borough, including constituent parishes.

Map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed wards in Tadley parish.

Map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed wards in Basingstoke Town.

Map sheet 4 illustrates the proposed wards in Basingstoke Town and Basing ward.

For an opportunity tosubmit your views, visit the Basingstoke & Deane FER page.

The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 20 July 1999. The Order to implement the Secretary of State's decision on that review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are both available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website.

Final report (PDF) published on 25 July 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Basingstoke & Deane (PDF).

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Basingstoke & Deane (PDF).

Map A1 Final recommendations for Basingstoke & Deane: Key Map (PDF).

Map A2 Proposed warding of Tadley Town (PDF).

Map A3 Proposed warding of Bramley Parish (PDF).

Large map (PDF 6.3 MB) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Basingstoke town. (Due to the file size, please not that this may take some time to download.)

Draft report (PDF) published February 2000.

Review Dates


Date from: Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements TBC TBC
Consultation on draft recommendations TBC TBC
Final recommendations published TBC
TBC