Draft and final recommendation reports for Wealden, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Wealden

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Wealden between September 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Wealden councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Wealden (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Wealden, was made on 15 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for Wealden have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The order for Wealden can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1237

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 October 2016 the Wealden (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Wealden and published on 27 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Wealden in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150733

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 27th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for Wealden District Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Wealden District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on the 16 June 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents A-C

Local Residents D-P

Local Residents R-Z

Councillors

Cllr Doodes

Cllr Galley

Parish and Town Councils

All submissions from parish and town councils are combined in the document below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils

Local Authority

Wealden District Council

Political Groups

Willingdon & Jevington Liberal Democrats

Local Organisations

Arlington Road West, The Glade & Robin Post Lane Residents' Association

Coopers Green Neighbourhood Watch

Jevington & Filching Residents' Association

Piltdon Residents' Association

St. Oswald's Hooe

Willingdon Residents' Association

On 15 March 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Wealden District Council. Between 15 March 2016 and 16 June 2016 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Wealden District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for East Sussex County Council and districts

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executives in East Sussex (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Wealden electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (East Sussex)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London
   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on warding arrangements for Wealden District Council

Councillors

Cllr White (PDF)

Local residents

Bottomley S (PDF)

Harvey L (PDF)

Kinghorn N (PDF)

Kingswood P (PDF)

Pragnell M (PDF)

Proctor H (PDF)

Simpson S (PDF)

Wood G (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Arlington Parish Council (PDF)

Berwick Parish Council (PDF)

Isfield Parish Council (PDF)

Wadhurst Parish Council (PDF)

Westham Parish Council (PDF)

Withyham Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Willingdon and Jevington Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Willingdon Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Organisations

Arlington Road West, The Glade and Robin Post Lane Resident's Association part 1 (PDF)

Arlington Road West, The Glade and Robin Post Lane Resident's Association part 2 (PDF)

Local Authority

Wealden District Council (PDF)

The Commission is also undertaking an electoral review of East Sussex County Council. Below are the submissions we received for East Sussex.

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Chalvington with Ripe Parish Council (PDF)

Falmer Parish Council (PDF)

Fletching Parish Council (PDF)

Heathfield Waldron Parish Council (PDF)

Hestmonceux Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council - part 2 (PDF)

Polegate Town Council (PDF)

Rotherfield Parish Council (PDF)

Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Willingdon and Jevington Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lambert (PDF)

Cllr Simmons (PDF)

Cllr Whetstone (PDF)

Local authority

East Sussex County Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Willingdon Residents Association (PDF)

Consultation closed on 30 November 2015

On 22 September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Wealden District Council. Between 22 September and 30 November 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the district council should have 45 councillors in the future, 10 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Wealden to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive Executives in East Sussex county (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note that the information was provided to us by East Sussex County Council and was updated in November 2015.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

At the same time, the Commission is carrying out an electoral review of East Sussex County Council and the other four district councils across East Sussex. This review will re-draw electoral division boundaries for the county council and ward boundaries for each district. If you wish to have your say on county division boundaries or ward boundaries in any other district, follow the links below:

East Sussex County Council

Eastbourne Borough Council

Hastings Borough Council

Lewes District Council

Rother District Council

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Wealden District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Wealden District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

An electoral review of Wealden started on 25 July 2000.

Final report was published 07 August 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Wealden; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Wealden; (PDF)

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the district; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Hartfield parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed warding of Maresfield parish (part); (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrates the proposed warding of Maresfield parish (part); (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrates the proposed warding of Mayfield and Five Ashes parish (part); (PDF)

Map A6 Illustrates the proposed warding of Mayfield and Five Ashes parish (part); (PDF)

Map A7 Illustrates the proposed warding of Polegate town; (PDF)

Map A8 Illustrates the proposed warding of Rotherfield parish; (PDF)

Map A9 Illustrates the proposed warding of Warbleton parish; (PDF)

Large map (7.49 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Crowborough, Hailsham, Healthfield & Waldron and Uckfield parishes and towns; (PDF)

Draft Report was published 20 February2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Wealden; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Wealden; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft Recommendations for Wealden: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Hartfield parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Maresfield parish (part); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Maresfield parish (part); (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Mayfield & Five Ashes parish (part); (PDF)

Map A6 Proposed warding of Mayfield & Five Ashes parish (part); (PDF)

Map A7 Proposed warding of Polegate parish; (PDF)

Map A8 Proposed warding of Rotherfield parish; (PDF)

Map A9 Proposed warding of Warbleton parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.4 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Crowborough, Hailsham, Heathfield & Waldron and Uckfield. This may take some time to download; (PDF)