Draft and final recommendation reports for East Sussex, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Sussex County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of East Sussex between September 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each East Sussex councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in East Sussex, was made on 13 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for East Sussex have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for East Sussex can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1225

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 October 2016 the East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in East Sussex and published on 27 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for East Sussex in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150726

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 27th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements for East Sussex County Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of East Sussex County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation closed on 16 June 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined into two seperate documents. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents A-H

Local Residents I-Z

Councillors:

Cllr Prochak

Parish and Town Councils:

Chailey Parish Council

Fletching Parish Council

Isfield Parish Council

Plumpton Parish Council

Rodmell Parish Council

Udimore Parish Council

Willingdon and Jevington Parish Council

Local Authority:

East Sussex County Council

Political Groups:

Bexhill & Battle Liberal Democrats

Liberal Democrat Group

Old Town Liberal Democrat Councillors

You can view the submissions for the five district councils across the county by accessing the relevant county here.

On 15 March 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of East Sussex County Council. Between 15 March 2016 and 16 June 2016 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for East Sussex County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for East Sussex County Council and its districts

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executives of East Sussex (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the East Sussex electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (East Sussex)
   Local Government Boundary Commission for England
   14th Floor Millbank Tower
   Millbank
   London
   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on division arrangements for East Sussex.

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Chalvington with Ripe Parish Council (PDF)

Falmer Parish Council (PDF)

Fletching Parish Council (PDF)

Heathfield Waldron Parish Council (PDF)

Hestmonceux Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council (PDF)

Mayfield and Five Ashes Parish Council - part 2 (PDF)

Polegate Town Council (PDF)

Rotherfield Parish Council (PDF)

Salehurst and Robertsbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Willingdon and Jevington Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lambert (PDF)

Cllr Simmons (PDF)

Cllr Whetstone (PDF)

Local authority

East Sussex County Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Willingdon Residents Association (PDF)

The Commission is also carrying out electoral reviews of the five district councils accross East Sussex. Below are the submissions we received listed by district council.

Eastbourne Borough Council

Local residents

Diver J (PDF)

Hayfield H (PDF)

Local Authority

Eastbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Eastbourne Borough Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Hastings Borough Council

Local residents

Coote H (PDF)

Cosson J (PDF)

Davis K (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Scott (PDF)

Local Authority

Hastings Borough Council (PDF)

Lewes District Council

Councillors

Cllr Davy (PDF)

Cllr Linnington (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Chailey Parish Council (PDF)

Hamsey Parish Council

Newhaven Town Council (PDF)

South Heighton Parish Council (PDF)

Wivelsfield Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Lewes District Council (PDF)

Local residents

All submissions from local aresidents are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Rother District Council

Local residents

Mackenzie Smith S (PDF)

Pyrah J (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Battle Town Council (PDF)

Bodiam Parish Council (PDF)

Ewhurst Parish Council (PDF)

Fairlight Parish Council (PDF)

Ticehurst Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Bexhill and Battle Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Bexhill Labour Party (PDF)

Local Organisations

Fairlight Preservation Trust (PDF)

Local Authority

Rother District Council (PDF)

Wealden District Council

Councillors

Cllr White (PDF)

Local residents

Bottomley S (PDF)

Harvey L (PDF)

Kinghorn N (PDF)

Kingswood P (PDF)

Pragnell M (PDF)

Proctor H (PDF)

Simpson S (PDF)

Wood G (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Arlington Parish Council (PDF)

Berwick Parish Council (PDF)

Isfield Parish Council (PDF)

Wadhurst Parish Council (PDF)

Westham Parish Council (PDF)

Withyham Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Willingdon and Jevington Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Willingdon Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Organisations

Arlington Road West, The Glade and Robin Post Lane Resident's Association part 1 (PDF)

Arlington Road West, The Glade and Robin Post Lane Resident's Association part 2 (PDF)

Local Authority

Wealden District Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 30 November 2015

On 22 September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of electoral divisions for East Sussex County Council. Between 22 September and 30 November 2015, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 50 county councillors in the future, one more than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across East Sussex to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 50 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executives in East Sussex (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note that the information was provided to us by East Sussex County Council.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode .

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

At the same time, the Commission is carrying out an electoral review of the five district councils across East Sussex. This review will re-draw ward boundaries for each district. If you wish to have your say on your ward boundaries or want to know more about the review in your area, follow the link to your area:

Eastbourne Borough Council

Hastings Borough Council

Lewes District Council

Rother District Council

Wealden District Council

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Sussex County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on East Sussex County Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of East Sussex County Council on 10 December 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be  viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order map sheet can be viewed here. The Electoral Commission decided to accept the final recommendations of The Boundary Committee for England subject to the following modification: Ashdown division should be re-named Buxted Maresfield.

For more information on how The Boundary Committee's final recommendations are made into Orders see the Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission website.

Final recommendations, published on 27 July 2004.

Map 1 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions for East Sussex, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map 2 illustrates the proposed divisions in Newhaven in Lewes district.

Draft recommendations, published on 13 January 2004.

Map 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for East Sussex, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Large map 1 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions for Newhaven, in Lewes district.


A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 12 July 1994