Draft and final recommendation reports for South Bucks, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Bucks

image map

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Buckinghamshire District Council to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the district which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in South Buckinghamshire.

 

Our review aims to ensure that each South Buckinghamshire councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Bucks (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Bucks, was made on 23 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for South Bucks have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for South Bucks can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/75/pdfs/uksi_20150075_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2014 the South Bucks (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Bucks and published on 14 October 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Bucks in 2015.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 14 October 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Bucks District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for South Bucks District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of South Bucks District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Bucks District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 29 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Bucks Council. Between 29 April 2014 and 21 July 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 22 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to each submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Denham Parish Council (PDF)

Hedgerley Parish Council (PDF)

Iver Parish Council (PDF)

Taplow Parish Council (PDF)

Wexham Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisation

EDRA (PDF)

Local Authority

South Bucks District Council (PDF)

Councillor

Cllr Bradford (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for South Bucks Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for South Bucks

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Bucks Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the draft recommendations.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

This consultation is now closed.

On 26 November 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Bucks Council. Between 26 November 2013 and 3 February 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 3 February 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Meacock D (PDF)

Norman P (PDF)

Rose A (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Farnham Royal Parish Council (PDF)

Fulmer Parish Council (PDF)

Gerrards Cross Parish Council (PDF)

Hedgerley Parish Council (PDF)

Iver Parish Council (PDF)

Parish Councillors

PCllr Webb (PDF)

Local Authority

South Bucks District Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Bucks Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 3 September 2013 we started an electoral review of South Bucks District Council. From 3 September 2013 to 14 October 2013 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent South Bucks in the future.

Consultation closed on 14 October 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

J Barnett (PDF)

G J Edwards (PDF)

B Newell (PDF)

P Norman (PDF)

R Pope (PDF)

M Sullivan (PDF)

H Wilson (PDF)

S Saunders (PDF)

Parish Councils

Iver Parish Council (PDF)

Wexham Parish Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from South Bucks District Council. Their submission is available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 28 members for South Bucks District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in November 2013. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Bucks District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on South Bucks District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

South Bucks District Council (PDF)

An electoral review of South Buckinghamshire started on 5 September 2000.

Final report (PDF) was published 20 November 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in South Bucks; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for South Bucks; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2-A7 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed boundaries for wards in Beaconsfield; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed boundary between Burnham Beeches and Burnham Church wards; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrates the proposed boundaries between Burnham Church, Burnham Lent Rise and Dorney & Burnham South wards; (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrates the proposed parish warding arrangements for Farnham Royal parish; (PDF)

Map A6 Illustrates the revised warding arrangements for Iver parish; (PDF) 

Map A7 Illustrates the proposed boundary between Iver Heath and Iver Village & Richings Park wards; (PDF)

Large map (1.3 Mb) proposed ward boundaries for the parishes of Denham and Gerrards Cross This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report was published 9 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in South Bucks; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for South Bucks; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for South Bucks: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Beaconsfield; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed ward boundary between Burnham Beeches and Burnham Church wards; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed boundaries between Burnham Church, Burnham Lent Rise and Dorney and Burnham South wards; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed Warding arrangements for Farnham Royal parish; (PDF)

Map A6 Proposed Warding arrangements for Iver parish; (PDF)

Map A7 Proposed boundary between Iver Heath and Iver Village & Richings Park wards; (PDF)

Large map (1.4 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the parishes of Denham and Gerrards Cross (This may take some time to download); (PDF)

Useful Documents