Draft and final recommendation reports for Milton Keynes, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Milton Keynes

image map Final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Milton Keynes Council to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the borough which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Milton Keynes.

 

Our review aims to ensure that each Milton Keynes councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Milton Keynes (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Milton Keynes, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014. New ward arrangements for Milton Keynes have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2014.

The order for Milton Keynes can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/22/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 October 2013 The Milton Keynes (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Milton Keynes and published on 25 June 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Milton Keynes in 2014.

To view the draft order please visit http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105184/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Milton Keynes 

On 25 June 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Milton Keynes. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. 

We have now completed our electoral review of Milton Keynes Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2014.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 22 January 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Milton Keynes Council. Between 22 January 2013 and 18 March 2013, we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 18 March 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 88 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

We also received:

Lockwood S (PDF)

Herbert BJ (PDF)

Ashmore A (PDF)

Baker J (PDF)

Cowell H (PDF)

Davison G (PDF)

Haw J (PDF)

King L (PDF)

Woodward K (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 15 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

We also received:

Ravenstone Parish Council (PDF)

Great Linford Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Exon (PDF)

Cllr Gibbs (PDF)

Cllr Venn (PDF)

Cllr Williams (PDF)

PCllr Petchey (PDF)

Cllr Brackenbury (PDF)

Cllr Ferrans (PDF)

PCllr Hawthorn (PDF)

Local Organisations, Political Groups and MPs

Milton Keynes Liberal Democrats (PDF)

The Passmore Association (PDF)

West Bletchley Labour Party (PDF)

Iain Stewart MP (PDF)

Milton Keynes Labour Party (PDF)

Consultation documents:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, search by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures for Milton Keynes (PDF), a map of the existing wards and parishes (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

Please note: these maps are very large and may take some to download.

Following preliminary discussions with Milton Keynes Council, on 24 July 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 24 July and 15 October, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the Council. We were especially looking for information on communities within Milton Keynes, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Milton Keynes Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 57 for Milton Keynes. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Milton Keynes Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say. 

When considering the warding arrangements for Milton Keynes you may find the electoral figures (PDF), a map of the existing wards and parishes (PDF) and map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed 15 October 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Milton Keynes Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Milton Keynes Labour Party (PDF)

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr D Eastman (PDF) including supplementary submission (PDF) 

Cllr Richards (PDF)

Cllr McCall (PDF)

Cllrs Belcher & Thomas (PDF)

Cllr Brackenbury (PDF)

Cllr Ferrans (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 16 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

The Passmore Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 94 submissions from local residents. The submissions are contained in two separate documents. At the front of the documents there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Batch 1 - Local Residents (PDF)

Batch 2 - Local Residents (PDF)

Council size consultation

On 8 May 2012 we started an electoral review of Milton Keynes Council. From 8 May 2012 to 18 June 2012 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Milton Keynes in the future.

letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Consultation closed 19 June 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

MPs, Political Groups, Councillors

Councillor Bint (PDF)

Councillor Brackenbury (PDF)

Councillor Hopkins (PDF)

Councillor Eastman (PDF)

Ian Stewart MP (PDF)

Milton Keynes Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Organisations

Little Brickhill Parochial Church Council (PDF)

Preserve Bow Brickhill (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 10 submissions from parish, town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 26 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Milton Keynes Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the borough council on council size.

An electoral review of Milton Keynes Unitary Authority (UA) started on 25 July 2000.

Final Report was published 07 August 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Milton Keynes; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Milton Keynes; (PDF)

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the borough; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Newport Pagnell town; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrate the proposed warding of West Bletchley parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrate the proposed warding of West Bletchley parish; (PDF)

Large map (12.2 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for the new town of Milton Keynes and Bletchley; (PDF)

Draft Report was published 27 February 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Milton Keynes; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Milton Keynes; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Milton Keynes: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Newport Pagnell Town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of West Bletchley Parish (Northern Area); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of West Bletchley Parish (Southern Area); (PDF)

Large map (10.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the new town of Milton Keynes and Bletchley. This may take some time to download; (PDF)