Draft and final recommendation reports for Buckinghamshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Buckinghamshire County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Buckinghamshire between October 2010 - May 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Buckinghamshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Buckinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Buckinghamshire, was made on 25 May 2012 and published on 30 May 2012.

New electoral division arrangements for Buckinghamshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 3 May 2013.

The order for Buckinghamshire can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/1396/contents/made

Draft order laid on Parliament

On 19 March 2012 the Buckinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Buckinghamshire and published on 17 January 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Buckinghamshire in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 19 July 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Buckinghamshire County Council. Between 19 July and 10 October we invited comments on the draft recommendations for the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 October 2011

Below are the submissions we received: 

Local authorities

Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Aylesbury Vale District Council (PDF)

Chiltern District Council (PDF)

Wycombe District Council (PDF)

Political groups and councillors 

Aylesbury Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Beaconsfield Constituency Conservative Association (PDF)

Chesham and Amersham Conservatives (PDF)

Chiltern Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Liberal Democrat Group on Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Cllr Brand (PDF)

Local organisations

The Marlow Society (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 18 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document.

All parish and town councils (PDF)

Local residents

Allcorn R (PDF)

Done D (PDF)

Morton I (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below

Maps of the areas recommendations:

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

On 11 January 2011, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Buckinghamshire County Council. Between 11 January and 3 April, we are inviting comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 4 April 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authorities 

Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)and an Amendment to electoral divisions in Buckinghamshire (PDF). Additionally an explanatory email from Marcus Grupp (PDF)

Political groups

Conservative Group on Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Bierton with Broughton Parish Council (PDF) 

Buckingham Town Council (PDF)

Chesham Town Council (PDF)

Denham Parish Council (PDF)

Farnham Royal Parish Council (PDF)

Hughenden Parish Council (PDF)

Little Chalfont Parish Council (PDF)

Nash Parish Council (PDF)

Penn Parish Council (PDF) 

Stokenchurch Parish Council (PDF)

Taplow Parish Council (PDF)

Westcott Parish Council (PDF)

Winslow Town Council (PDF) 

Wooburn and Bourne End Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

M A Knight (PDF)

L Leeds (PDF)

A Looker (PDF)

W Matthews (PDF) 

Since the start of the review, Buckinghamshire County Council have written to us formally requesting that this electoral review be considered a Single Member Division Review. The Council passed a motion to this effect at its meeting on 25 November 2010. This means that the Boundary Commission’s draft recommendations will consist of 49 divisions with a presumption of a uniform pattern of single-member divisions.

Please see the following letter from the County Council (PDF)

On 12 October 2010 started an electoral review of Buckinghamshire County Council. From 12 October 2010 to 22 November 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Buckinghamshire during two further periods of consultation later in 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authorities

Buckinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Wycombe District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr McCarthy (PDF)

Parish councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Parish and town councils (PDF) 

Local residents

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents (PDF)

The below links contain information about this review:

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Buckinghamshire CountyCouncil (PDF)

Read our news-release

You may find maps of Buckinghamshire's divisions (PDF) and parishes (PDF) useful. Here are the electorate figures (XLS) for Buckinghamshire, including the County Council's projected electorate forecast for 2017.

Click here to use our online form to give your views on Buckinghamshire. 

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Buckinghamshire on 10 December 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2 and Sheet 3. The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission's website explains how The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final recommendations, published on 14 September 2004.

Sheet 1  illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Buckinghamshire, including constituent borough wards and parishes.

Sheet 2  illustrates the boundary between the proposed Abbey, Booker, Cressex & Sands, Chiltern Valley, Downley, Disraeli, Oakridge & Castlefield, Marlow and Thames divisions in Wycombe.

Sheet 3  illustrates the boundary between the proposed Bulstrode, Burnham Beeches and Stoke Poges & Farnham Commons divisions in South Bucks.

Draft recommendations, published on 9 March 2004.

Sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Buckinghamshire, including constituent borough wards and parishes.

Sheet 2 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in Wycombe.

Sheet 3 illustrates the proposed electoral divisions in South Bucks.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published 15 June 1994