Draft and final recommendation reports for Aylesbury Vale, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Aylesbury Vale

image map

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Aylesbury Vale to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more electors than other elected members elsewhere in the district which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Aylesbury Vale.

 

Our review aims to ensure that each Aylesbury Vale councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Aylesbury Vale (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Aylesbury Vale, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published 5 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Aylesbury Vale have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Aylesbury Vale can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3334/pdfs/uksi_20143334_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 23 October 2014 the Aylesbury Vale (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Aylesbury Vale and published on 1 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Aylesbury Vale in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122136/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 1 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Aylesbury Vale District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Aylesbury Vale District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Aylesbury Vale District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Aylesbury Vale District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 14 January 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Aylesbury Vale Council. Between 14 January 2014 and 8 April 2014 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2014

Below are the submission which we have received:

The submissions have been grouped into single PDF documents. Click on the corresponding links to find specific submissions.

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local authority

Aylesbury Vale District Council-part 1(PDF)

Aylesbury Vale District Council-part 2(PDF)

Aylesbury Vale District Council-part 3(PDF) 

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town councils

Parish and Town councils (PDF)

Political groups and Societies

Political groups and Societies (PDF)

 

Draft recommendation documents can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about draft recommendations.

On 23 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Aylesbury Vale District Council. Between 23 July 2013 and 1 October 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 October 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Bocca (PDF)

Harvey H (PDF)

Thornton S (PDF)

Tinnelly S (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 12 submissions from parish and town councils.All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Paternoster (PDF)

Local Authority

Aylesbury Vale District Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Aylesbury Vale Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local organisations

Drayton Beauchamp Neighbourhood Watch (PDF)

RAF Halton (PDF)

Wendover Society (PDF)

Maids Moreton Conservation Group (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of Aylesbury Vale District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 23 April 2013 we started an electoral review of Aylesbury Vale District Council. From 23 April 2013 to 03 June 2013 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Aylesbury Vale in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Aylesbury Vale District Council. Their submission is available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 59 members for Aylesbury Vale District Council.

Consultation closed on 3 June 2013.

Below are the submissions received:

Local residents

Bennett K (PDF)

Bromfield S (PDF)

Chapman M (PDF)

Cotton S (PDF)

Gibson M (PDF)

Henson D (PDF)

Knight M (PDF)

Reidie K (PDF)

Smith B (PDF)

Thomas C (PDF)

Councillors

PCllr Harvey (PDF)

PCllr Perry (PDF)

Parish Councils

Drayton Beauchamp Parish Meeting (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in July. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Aylesbury Vale District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from Aylesbury Vale District Council.

An electoral review of Aylesbury Vale started on 5 September 2000.

Final Report (PDF) was published 20 November 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Aylesbury Vale; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Aylesbury Vale; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Aylesbury Vale; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Buckingham Town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed boundary between Edlesborough and Pitstone wards; (PDF)

Large map (4 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for the Aylesbury Town. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft Report (PDF) was published 8 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Aylesbury Vale; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Aylesbury; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Aylesbury Vale: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Buckingham town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed ward boundary between Edlesborough and Pitstone wards and the boundaries between Ivinghoe and Ivinghoe Aston parish wards; (PDF)

Large map (4.3 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the Aylesbury Town area. (This may take some time to download); (PDF)

Useful Documents