Draft and final recommendation reports for Slough, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Slough

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Slough between July 2011 - November 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Slough councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Slough (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Slough, was made on 5 November 2012 and was published on 8 November 2012.

New ward arrangements for Slough have now successfully completed a 40 day period of parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 1 May 2014.

The Order for Slough can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/2769/pdfs/uksi_20122769_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 July 2012 the Slough (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Slough and published on 8 May 2012.
 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Slough in 2014.

The draft order can viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2012/9780111527283/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111527283_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 8 May 2012 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Slough. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

On 13 December 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Slough Borough Council. Between 13 December and 13 February 2012, we invited local people and other interested parties to comment on our proposed ward boundaries.

Consultation closed on 13 February 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Anonymous (PDF)

Political Groups

Labour Group (PDF)

Slough Conservative submission (PDF) and confirmation letter (PDF)

Slough Liberal Democrats (PDF) 

Windsor Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Anderson (PDF)

Cllr Dale-Gough (PDF)

Cllr Mann (PDF)

Cllr Swindlehurst (PDF)

Cllr Walsh (PDF)

Parishes

Parish Cllr Nye (PDF)

Colnbrook with Poyle parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Allen T (PDF)

Balchin A (PDF)

Begum (PDF)

Bowler (PDF)

Fazil S (PDF)

Harding F (PDF)

Foxbauer I (PDF)

Kingswood P (PDF)

Matloob G (PDF)

Timms S (PDF) 

The recommendations can be found using the links below:

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note some of the maps are large and may take some time to download.

Following preliminary discussions with Slough Borough Council, on 4 July 2011 we started a period of information gathering for new warding arrangements for the council. Between 4 July and 4 October, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new ward boundary arrangements for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Slough Borough Council (PDF)

The Commission is minded to recommend a council size of 42 for Slough, following the receipt of evidence supporting this number from Slough Borough Council.

Evidence on council size from Slough Borough Council (PDF) 

Consultation closed on 4 October 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Slough Borough Council (PDF) and attendant map (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

Cllr Smith (of Slough Conservatives) (PDF) - an A0 map was also supplied with this submission and is available to view at our offices by appointment.

Windsor Labour Party (PDF)

Local Organisations

Langley St Mary's Neighbourhood Action Group (PDF)

Local Residents

P Kingswood (PDF) and attendant maps (PDF)

R Begum (PDF)

S Dhanda (PDF)

We received the following submissions after 4 October:

Colnbrook with Poyle Parish Council (PDF)

Slough Conservative Group (PDF)

Slough Labour Group (PDF), attendant map (PDF), and additional submission (PDF)

You may find the maps of the parished and unparished areas (PDF) and the existing wards (PDF) in Slough useful. Slough Borough Council have also provided a map of polling districts (PDF).

During the information gathering stage, Slough Borough Council provided updated polling district projections for Cippenham Green and Cippenham Meadows. Here are the updated electorate figures (XLS) for Slough.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and details of the legislation that reviews are carried out under.

An electoral review of Slough Unitary Authority (UA) was started on 12 June 2001 by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). On 1 April 2002 the functions of the LGCE were transfered to the Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF) was published 06 June 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Slough UA; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Slough UA; (PDF)

Large map (7.3 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Slough UA; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF) was published 15 January 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Slough UA; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Slough UA; (PDF)

Large map (7.3 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Slough UA; (PDF)