Draft and final recommendation reports for Knowsley, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Knowsley

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Knowsley between July 2014 - December 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Knowsley councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Knowsley (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Knowsley, was made on 11 December 2015 and was published on 17 December 2015. New ward arrangements for Knowsley have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Knowsley can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/2036/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 28 October 2015 the Knowsley (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Knowsley and published on 30 June 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Knowsley in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111140215/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 30 June we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6 April 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received over 50 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in two documents. At the front of each document is a link to the relevant submission.

Local residents - A-K (PDF)

Local residents - L-Z (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Cronton Parish Council (PDF)

Halewood Town Council (PDF)

Knowsley Town Council (PDF)

Whiston Town Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Cherryfield Ward Labour Group (PDF)

Knowsley and Prescot Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Knowsley Labour Group (PDF)

St Michaels Ward Labour Party (PDF)

Parish Councillors

PCllr Cook (PDF)

PCllr Rostance (PDF)

Local organisations

Delph Residents Action Group (PDF)

Kirkby First (PDF)

Kirkby Residents Action Group (PDF)

Whiston Hospital (PDF)

Women for Kirkbys Future (PDF)

Local authority

Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lonergan (PDF)

Cllr Moorhead (PDF)

Cllr Sharp (PDF)

Cllr Williams (PDF)

On 10 February 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. Between 10 February 2015 and 6 April 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

• Draft recommendations for Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release on draft recommendations for Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council

• Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Consultation closed on 3 November 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All local residents submissions are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received a submission from 

Flaherty J (PDF)

Anonymous

We received 16 postcards. All postcards are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Anonymous (PDF)

Local authority

Knowsley Metropolitian Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Williams (PDF)

Town Councillor

Town Councillor Smith - Prescot Town Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Cherryfield Ward Labour Party (PDF)

Knowsley and Prescot Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Knowsley Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Northwood Labour Party (PDF)

Prescot East Labour Party (PDF)

Prescot West Labour Party (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Halewood Town Council (PDF)

Knowsley Town Council (PDF)

Prescot Town Council (PDF)

Whiston Town Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Kirkby Central Ward (PDF)

On 26 August 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. Between 26 August 2014 and 3 November 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the borough council should have 45 borough councillors in the future, eighteen fewer than at present.

Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Knowsley to help it to produce a new pattern of three-member wards to accommodate 45 borough councillors.The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling  mapping data has been supplied by the local authorities and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Knowsley on 4 December 2001.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, published on 25 March 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Knowsley;

Map 2 Our final recommendations for Knowsley;

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large maps;

Large map 1, Large map 2 and Large map 3 illustrate the proposed warding arrangements for Knowsley.

Draft recommendations, (PDF) published on 3 September 2002.

Map 1 Existing wards in Knowsley;

Map 2 Our draft recommendations for Knowsley;

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the borough and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large maps;

Large map 1 , Large map 2  and Large map 3: The large maps illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Knowsley;