Draft and final recommendation reports for Wyre, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Wyre

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Wyre between October 2012 - May 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Wyre councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Wrye (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Wyre, was made on 7 May 2014 and was published 13 May 2014). New ward arrangements for Wyre have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Wyre can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1187/pdfs/uksi_20141187_en.pdf

 

Draft Order laid in Parliment

On 26 February 2014 the Wyre (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Wyre.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Wyre in 2015.

The draft order can be found here :

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111110201/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 19 November 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Wyre Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note the map is very large and may take some time to load.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Wyre Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 18 June 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Wyre Borough Council. Between 18 June 2013 and 9 September 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 9 September 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents:

Bailey K (PDF)

Sweetman J (PDF)

Lee A (PDF)

Tarrant P (PDF)

Wilson R (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr E Anderton (PDF)

Cllr M Anderton (PDF)

Cllr RW Brooks (PDF)

Cllr T Lees (PDF)

Cllr P Martin (PDF)

Cllrs Newsham and MacNaughton (PDF)

Local authority

Wyre Borough Council (PDF)

Local groups

Thornton Action Group (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. 

On 29 January 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Wyre Council. Between 29 January 2013 and 8 April 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for Wyre.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Whitman A (PDF)

Lee A (PDF)

Carter H (PDF)

Sweetman J (PDF)

Murdoch R (PDF)

Murdoch R (PDF)

Roberts (PDF)

Taylor (PDF)

Parish Councils

We received the submission below after the consultation date:

Barnacre with Bonds Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups, Local Organisations and Local Authority

Thornton Action Group (PDF)

Wyre Labour Group (PDF)

Local Authority (PDF)

Click on the links below for more information about the review.

Read our news release Letter to the Chief Executive of Wyre Council (PDF)

Click on the link to view electorate figures (XLS) for Wyre.

Below is the map of existing ward boundaries in Wyre. Click on the image for more detail:


To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 23 October 2012 we started an electoral review of Wyre Council. From 23 October to 3 December 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Wyre Council.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Wyre Council and the Wyre Labour group. These submissions are available below; under preliminary council size.

The Commission has considered these submissions and has sought views on its proposals for a council size of 50 members for Wyre Council.

A letter to the Chief Executive of Wyre Council (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Consultation closed 3 December 2012

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Authority

Wyre Council (PDF)

Political groups and Councillors

Wyre Labour Group (PDF)

Cllr Shewan (PDF) + additional submission (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

Preesall Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Thornton Action Group (PDF)

Local Residents

Sweetman J (PDF)

Roberts B (PDF)

Tarrant (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Wyre Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received two submissions on council size.

Wyre Council (PDF)

Wyre Labour Group (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report, published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Wyre;

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Wyre. (This map is currently unavailable. Please contact the local authority)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Wyre: Key map;

Map A2 Proposed boundary between Breck and Hardhorn wards;

Map A3 Proposed boundary between Carleton and Tithebarn wards;

Map A4 Proposed boundary between Tithebarn and High Cross wards;

Large map (4.4 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Fleetwood and Thornton Cleveleys. This may take some time to download;

Draft report, published on 15 February 2000