Draft and final recommendation reports for South Ribble, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Ribble

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of South Ribble between February 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each South Ribble councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Ribble, was made on 2 December 2014 and was published 17 December 2014. New ward arrangements for South Ribble have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for South Ribble can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3288/pdfs/uksi_20143288_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 21 October 2014 the South Ribble (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Ribble and published on 15 October 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Ribble in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111121382/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 March 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Ribble Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available.To interact with the final recommendations mapping please visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Ribble Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 15 October 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Ribble Borough Council. Between 15 October 2013 and 6 January 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 6 January 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Johnstone D (PDF)

Burt I (PDF)

Pennington L (PDF)

Fox S (PDF)

Speariett W (PDF)

Rogerson D (PDF)

Young T (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Faringdon Parish Council (PDF)

Penwortham Town Council (PDF)

Parish Councillor C Wooldridge (PDF)

Parish Councillor D Wooldridge (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr O'Hare (PDF)

Cllr Martin (PDF)

Cllr Patten (PDF)

Political Groups

Labour Group on Penwortham Town Council (PDF)

South Ribble Liberal Democrats (PDF)

South Ribble Labour Party (PDF)

Local Authority

South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the draft recommendations for South Ribble.

On 28 May 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Ribble Borough Council. Between 28 May 2013 and 5 August 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Pennington L (PDF)

Fox S (PDF)

Parkington S (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr O'Hare (PDF)

Cllr Ball (PDF)

Cllr Nelson (PDF)

Local Authority

South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

Appendix A (XLS)

Political Groups

South Ribble Labour Group (PDF) - Appendix A (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of South Ribble Council (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding patterns for the borough.

On 26 February 2013 we started an electoral review of South Ribble Borough Council. From 26 February 2013 to 8 April 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent South Ribble in the future.

Consultation closed 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Bibby G (PDF)

Farrell A (PDF)

Fox S (PDF)

Gilleece J (PDF)

Halstead M (PDF)

Hunter S (PDF)

Jameson J (PDF)

Johnson J (PDF)

Kelk (PDF) 

Pennington L (PDF)

Richardson G (PDF)

Rogerson D (PDF)

Silcock W (PDF)

Smalley L (PDF)

Warren S (PDF)

Wing J (PDF)

Yates H (PDF)

Parish Councils

Hutton Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

South Ribble Borough Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council which are available below under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission considered this submission and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 50 members for South Ribble. 

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

We had a meeting with the Council to discuss their council size submission.You can view the minutes of this discussion here.

Minutes of meeting with the council (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted South Ribble Borough Council on the most appropriate council size. We received a single submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in South Ribble; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for South Ribble; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for South Ribble: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed boundary between Hutton and Longton and New Longton wards; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed boundary between Coupe Green and Gregson Lane and Samlesbury and Walton wards; (PDF)

Large map (7.9 Mb) illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for the Central area of the borough. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 4 April 2000

Useful Documents