" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Preston

image map View our Final Recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Preston City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Preston.

 

 

 

On 16 January 2018, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Preston City Council.

We have now completed our electoral review of Preston City Council.

 

Parish and Town Councils with electoral and boundary changes:

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, and search by area or postcode.

The mapping files used for the consultation portal can be downloaded here*. 

The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will now be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Preston City Council to be implemented at the local elections in May 2019..

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

 *This data has been derived by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) from the OS OpenData Boundary-Line product during the course of its electoral review of this authority. Its use is governed by the terms of the OS OpenData Licence Agreement. The data is provided in good faith by the LGBCE and is provided for information purposes only. It should not be used for canvasing or other purpose that might give the user any commercial gain.

The consultation on the draft recommendations for Preston City Council has now closed.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Political Groups:

Preston and Wyre Liberal Democrats

Preston Conservatives

Local Organisations:

Ingol and Tanterton Neighbourhood Council

Tanterton Village Centre

Parish and Town Councils:

Grimsargh Parish Council

Lea and Cottam Parish Council

Whittingham Parish Council

Local Residents:

All Residents (A - Z)


On 29 August 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Preston City Council. Between 29 August 2017 and 6 November 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Preston City Council

·         Summary of the Preston report 

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Preston City Council

·         An overview map of Preston City Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for closed on the 5 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Preston City Council

Political Groups:

Preston Conservative Group

MP:

Mark Menzies MP

Local Organisations:

Tanterton Village Centre

Parish and Town Councils:

Grimsargh Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr Bromley, B


On 28 March 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Preston City Council. Between 28 March 2017 and 5 June 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Preston City Council should have 48 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Preston to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Preston City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Preston City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Preston polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Preston City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Preston City Council). We received 3 submissions on council size:

Preston City Council

Preston & Wyre Liberal Democrats

Preston Conservatives

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Preston; (PDF)

Map 2 Propsed wards in Preston; (PDF)

Large map (8.1 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Preston. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 February 2000

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 March 2017
5 June 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
29 August 2017
6 November 2017
Final recommendations published
16 January 2018