" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Preston

image map View existing ward boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Preston City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Preston.

The consultation on warding arrangements for closed on the 5 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Preston City Council

Political Groups:

Preston Conservative Group

MP:

Mark Menzies MP

Local Organisations:

Tanterton Village Centre

Parish and Town Councils:

Grimsargh Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr Bromley, B


On 28 March 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Preston City Council. Between 28 March 2017 and 5 June 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Preston City Council should have 48 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Preston to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Preston City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Preston City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Preston polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Preston City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Preston City Council). We received 3 submissions on council size:

Preston City Council

Preston & Wyre Liberal Democrats

Preston Conservatives

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Preston; (PDF)

Map 2 Propsed wards in Preston; (PDF)

Large map (8.1 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Preston. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 February 2000

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 March 2017
5 June 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
5 September 2017
13 November 2017
Final recommendations published
30 January 2018