Draft and final recommendation reports for Lancaster, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Lancaster

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Lancaster between July 2012 - March 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Lancaster councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Lancaster, was made on 27 February 2014 and was published 4 March 2014). New ward/division arrangements for Lancaster have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Lancaster can be viewed on the link below:


http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/455/pdfs/uksi_20140455_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 17 December 2013 the Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Lancaster and published on 22 October 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Lancaster in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2014/9780111106952

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 22 October 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Lancaster City Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. 

We have now completed our electoral review of Lancaster City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 4 June 2013 the Commission began further limited consultation in Lancaster. At its meeting on 21 May 2013 the Commission decided to undertake further consultation in response to the views put forward during the consultation on its draft recommendations. The Commission proposes to make significant changes to the plans it put forward last year and residents are invited to have their say.

Consultation closed on 15 July 2013

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Lancaster City Council (PDF) and our public news release provides more information on the review.

The limited consultation focused on areas of Lancaster City where the Commission proposed to alter its draft recommendations for new ward boundaries.

Representations must be submitted to the Commission by 15 July 2013

Following preliminary discussions with Lancaster Council, on 24 July 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 24 July and 15 October, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Lancaster, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

Consultation closed on 15 October 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Lancaster City Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Johnson (PDF)

Cllr Rollins (PDF)

Local residents

Arkwright G (PDF)

Burton J (PDF)  

Parish & town councils

Carnforth town council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 7 September 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 5 September 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Lancaster; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Lancaster; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Lancaster: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Carnforth Town; (PDF)

Large map (6.8 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Lancaster and Morecambe. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 4 April 2000