Draft and final recommendation reports for Cumbria County Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cumbria County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Cumbria County Council between October 2010 - December 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Cumbria councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Cumbria (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cumbria, was made on 17 December 2012 and was published 20 December 2012.

New ward arrangements for Cumbria have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Cumbria can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/3113/pdfs/uksi_20123113_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15 October 2012 the Cumbria (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Cumbria and published on 31 July 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cumbria in 2013.

The draft order for Cumbria can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2012/9780111529478/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111529478_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

April 2012: Correction to the Cumbria draft recommendations report (pages 34-35) (PDF)

On 25 October 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Cumbria County Council and invited comments on the draft recommendations for the authority. 

The consultation was extended and we accepted responses submitted to the Commission by 30 January 2012. We believe that the new timescale took better account of the Christmas break whilst ensuring that the review will still be completed in July 2012.

Consultation closed on 30 January 2012. 

Below are the submissions we received. The submissions are organised by the areas they refer to.  

County Wide

Cumbria Conservatives (PDF)

Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Walton J (PDF)

Allerdale

Cllr Armstrong (PDF)

Conservative Group Cockermouth town council (PDF)

Workington Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Workington Conservative Association (PDF)

Aspartia parish council (PDF)

Cockermouth town council (PDF)

Maryport town council (PDF)

St John's Castlerigg and Wythburn parish council (PDF)

Coles J (PDF)

Payton J (PDF)

Barrow

Barrow and Furness Labour Party (PDF)

Carlisle

Carlisle Constiuency Labour Party (PDF)

MP Stevenson (PDF)

St Cuthbert Without parish council (PDF)

Weatheral parish council (PDF)

Arnold D (PDF)

Hodgkins J (PDF)

Copeland

Copeland Borough Council (PDF)

Copeland Conservatives (PDF)

Cllr Altree (PDF)

Cllr Brown (PDF)

Egremont town council (PDF)

Millom town council (PDF)

Hobbs J (PDF)

Trainor J (PDF)

South Lakeland

South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

Kendal town council (PDF)

Preston Patrick parish council (PDF)

We have received electoral figures from Cumbria County Council. Click here to view these figures (PDF)

We have also provided an overview map showing only electoral division and parish boundaries for Cumbria.

Overview map - electoral divisions and parishes (PDF)

The recommendations can be found using the links below:

Maps of the areas recommendations:

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

On 29 March 2011, we began our consultation on electoral division boundaries in Cumbria. In the previous stage, we consulted on the number of councillors Cumbria should have and decided it should have 84 councillors. Between 29 March and 20 June, we invited comments on the division boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 20 June 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Allerdale Borough Council (PDF)

South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

MP and Political groups

MP Stevenson (PDF) 

The Labour Party (PDF)

Liberal Democrats Group (PDF) 

Councillors

Cllr Bainbridge (PDF) 

Cllr James (PDF)

Parish and Town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Parish and Town councils (PDF)

Local residents

G Bryan (PDF)

M Day (PDF) 

B Eden (PDF)

M Paley (PDF)

M Randall (PDF)

R Stobbs (PDF)

J Walton (PDF) 

The below links contain more information

Read our news-release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cumbria County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) for Cumbria useful.  

Please note that the figures in the above proforma may be subject to change. Any revision to the figures will be noted as soon as they are available.

On 12 October 2010 we started an electoral review of Cumbria County Council. From 12 October 2010 to 22 November 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Cumbria during two further periods of consultation later in 2011.

Below are the submissions we recieved: 

Local authorities:

Cumbria County Council (PDF) 

Carlisle City Council (PDF)

South Lakeland District Council (PDF)

Political groups, Councillors, and MPs:

Cumbria County Labour Group (PDF)

Copland Conservative Association (PDF)

Cllr Mallinson (PDF)

Cllr Peters (PDF) 

MP Stevenson (PDF)

Additional submission from MP Stevenson (PDF) 

Parish and town councils:

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Local organisations 

Cumbria Rural Housing Trust (PDF) 

Local residents: 

B Davis (PDF)

S Gorton (PDF)

P Mailkey (PDF) 

D Spencer (PDF)

J Walton (PDF) 

The below links contain information about this review:

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cumbria District Council (PDF)

Read our news-release

You may find maps of Cumbria's divisions (PDF) and parishes (PDF) useful.

Here are the electoral figures for Cumbria (PDF)

Click here to use our online form to give your views on Cumbria. 

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

The Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Cumbria County Council on 5 January 1999. It completed this review in November 1999.

Final recommendations published in November 1999.

Draft recommendations published on 29 June 1999.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 20 September 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 13 June 1994