LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more


Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Carlisle City Council.


The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Carlisle.





On 27 February 2018, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Carlisle City Council. Between 27 February 2018 and 7 May 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Carlisle City Council should have 39 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Carlisle to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 39 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Carlisle City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Carlisle City Council and may contain boundary errors.


To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Carlisle electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Carlisle)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower



   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process, we consulted with Carlisle City Council on the most appropriate number of councillors for Carlisle City Council (council size).

We received three submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 25 May 1997.

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997

Draft report (PDF) published on 28 May 1997.

Review Dates

Date from: Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 February 2018
7 May 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations
7 August 2018
15 October 2018
Final recommendations published
27 November 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more