Draft and final recommendation reports for Allerdale Borough Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Allerdale

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission's electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council concluded in November 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that ensure all councillors represent approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to deliver effective and convenient local government, and ensure that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.


 

Recommendations become law

The Allerdale (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Allerdale Borough Council, was made on 5 November 2017.

New ward arrangements for Allerdale have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2019.

The Order for Allerdale Borough Council can be viewed through this link.

On 13 July 2017, the Allerdale (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

Now that that draft Order has successfully passed through Parliament, it will give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Allerdale, and published on 13 June 2017.

The draft Order can be viewed here.

The draft Order refers to a map which can be viewed here.

On 13 June 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Allerdale Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files of our final recommendations can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Allerdale Borough Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 3 April 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Political Groups:

Labour Group of Allerdale District Councillors

Councillors:

Cllr Gainger

Local Organisations:

St John's Residents Association

Parish and Town Councils:

Above Derwent Parish Council

Allhallows Parish Council

Blindcrake Parish Council

Bothel and Threapland Parish Council

Broughton Moor Parish Council

Embleton and District Parish Council

Local Residents:

Byers, A

Dixon, R

Fitzgerald, M

Hall, S

Hearn, S

Hodgson, M and L

Holliday, J

 


On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council. These can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Allerdale Borough Council (PDF)

Summary of the Allerdale Borough Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Allerdale Borough Council

 

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Allerdale Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.


You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 December 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the review:

Local Authority:

Allerdale Borough Council

Political Groups:

Conservative Group

Labour Group

Independent Group

Parish and Town Councils:

Above Derwent Parish Council

Brigham Parish Council

Cockermouth Town Council

Embleton Parish Council

Holme Low Parish Council

Kirkbampton Parish Council

Maryport Parish Council

Sebergham Parish Council

Silloth-on-Solway Town Council

Underskiddaw Parish Council

Local Residents:

Collins D

Macrae D


On 27th September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Allerdale Borough Council. Between 27 September 2016 to 5 December 2016, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Allerdale Borough Council should have 48 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Allerdale to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Allerdale Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arragements. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Allerdale Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors in Allerdale Borough Council). We received the following three submissions on borough size:

Allerdale Borough Council

Cllr Marion Fitzgerald

Independent Group

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 25 May 1997.

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997

Draft report (PDF) published on 28 May 1997