LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Allerdale

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Allerdale.

 

 

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 3 April 2017.


On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Allerdale Borough Council. These can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Allerdale Borough Council (PDF)

Summary of the Allerdale Borough Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Allerdale Borough Council

 

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Allerdale Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.


You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 December 2016.

Please find listed below the submissions we received for this stage of the review:

Local Authority:

Allerdale Borough Council

Political Groups:

Conservative Group

Labour Group

Independent Group

Parish and Town Councils:

Above Derwent Parish Council

Brigham Parish Council

Cockermouth Town Council

Embleton Parish Council

Holme Low Parish Council

Kirkbampton Parish Council

Maryport Parish Council

Sebergham Parish Council

Silloth-on-Solway Town Council

Underskiddaw Parish Council

Local Residents:

Collins D

Macrae D


On 27th September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Allerdale Borough Council. Between 27 September 2016 to 5 December 2016, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Allerdale Borough Council should have 48 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Allerdale to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Allerdale Borough Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arragements. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Allerdale Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors in Allerdale Borough Council). We received the following three submissions on borough size:

Allerdale Borough Council

Cllr Marion Fitzgerald

Independent Group

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 25 May 1997.

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997

Draft report (PDF) published on 28 May 1997

Review Dates


Date from
Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements
27th September 2016
5th December 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
7th February 2017
3th April 2017
Final recommendations
6th June 2017