Draft and final recommendation reports for Warrington, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Warrington

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Warrington between February 2015 - February 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Warrington councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Warrington (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Warrington, was made on 4 February 2016 and was published on 5 February 2016. New ward arrangements for Warrington have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Warrington can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/115/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 8 December 2015 the Warrington (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Warrington and published on 1 December 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Warrington in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111141663/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On the 1st of December 2015 we published final recommendations for Warrington Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Warrington Borough Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Warrington Borough Council (PDF)

• overview map of the final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Warrington Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion

Consultation closed 19th October 2015

Below are the submissions we recieved

Local Residents

All of the 106 submissions we recieved from Local Residents are included in the documents below

Local Residents Surnames A-J (PDF)

Local Residents Surnames K-Z (PDF)

Councillors

All of the 15 submissions we recieved from Councillors are included in the document below

Councillors (PDF)

Local Organisations

Blackbrook Community Association (PDF)

Fairfield and Howeley Community Action (PDF)

Lymm Environment and Heritage Group (PDF)

Political Groups

Lymm Ward Branch of the Labour Party (PDF)

Warrington Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Warrington North Conservative Association (PDF)

Warrington South Conservative Association (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

All of the 16 submission we recieved from Parish and Town Councils are included in the document below

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Petition

We recieved signatures for a petition from the Lymm Liberal Democrats  requesting the withdrawl of the proposal to join Lymm with Thelwall - based on community identity and effetive local government

Lymm Liberal Democrats (PDF)

 

On 25 August 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Warrington Borough Council. Between 25 August 2015 and 19 October 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations report for Warrington Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Warrington Borough Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Warrington Borough Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) for the current wards useful when considering our draft recommendations. Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 6th July 2015 

On 12 May 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Warrington Borough Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 6 July 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Below are the submissions we received:

Residents

Colloff J (PDF)

Farquhar W (PDF)

Mart P (PDF)

Selwood B (PDF)

Watson C (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Friend (PDF)

Cllr Heaver and Cllr Price (PDF)

Cllr Settle (PDF)

Political Groups

Warrington North Conservative Asociation (PDF)

Local Authority

Warrington Borough Council (PDF) 

Parish Councils

Lymm Parish Council (PDF)

Rixton with Glazebrook Parish Council (PDF)

Woolston Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Longbarn Residents Association (PDF)

Resources and Strategic Governance Directorate (PDF)

Warrington Chambers of Commerce and Industry (PDF)


The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the borough council should have 58 borough councillors in the future, one more than current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Warrington to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 58 borough councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Warrington Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.


As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Warrington Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Warrington Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

Warrington Borough Council

Liberal Democrats

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and started on 5 September 2000. The Order to implement The Electoral Commission's decision on the review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are both available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website.

Final report (PDF), published on 20 November 2001

Map 1 : Existing wards in Warrington; (PDF)

Map 2 : The Commission's final recommendations for Warrington; (PDF)

Large map (7.8 Mb) illustrating proposed ward boundaries for Warrington. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 8 May 2001

Map 1 : Existing wards in Warrington; (PDF)

Map 2 : The Commission's draft recommendations for Warrington; (PDF)

Large map (8.2 Mb) illustrating proposed ward boundaries for Warrington. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

A directed electoral review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 11 April 1996

Final report (PDF) published on 6 December 1996

Draft report (PDF) published on 3 September 1996

 


 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 26 September 1995