" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cheshire West & Chester

image map View our Draft Recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Cheshire West and Chester Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Cheshire West and Chester.

The consultation on the draft recommendations for Cheshire West and Chester has now closed.

On 29 August 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Cheshire and Chester West Council. Between 29 August 2017 and 6 November 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Cheshire and Chester West Council

·         Summary of the Cheshire and Chester West report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cheshire and Chester West Council

·         An overview map of Cheshire and Chester West draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 5 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Political Groups:

Cheshire West and Chester Conservative Group

Cheshire West Labour

Cheshire West and Chester Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Barker

Cllr Clarke

Cllr Crowe

Cllr Daniels

Cllr Dawson

Cllr Gibbon

Cllr Riley

Cllr Sullivan

Local Organisations:

Garden Quarter Association

Handbridge Residents Council

Hartford Civic Society

Northgate Village Residents Association

Sutton Weaver Area Community Action Group

Westminster Park Residents Association

Parish and Town Councils:

All submissions from parish and town councils are combined in the document below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the document below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

A-H

J-Z

Petition:

Little Budworth residents


On 28 March 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Cheshire West and Chester Council. Between 28 March 2017 and 5 June 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it is minded to recommend that Cheshire West and Chester Council should have 69 councillors in the future, a reduction of 6 from 75.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Cheshire West and Chester to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 69 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Cheshire West and Chester Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Cheshire West and Chester Council and may contain boundary errors.

Cheshire West and Chester polling district map

Cheshire West and Chester (Chester) polling district map

Cheshire West and Chester (Ellesmere Port) polling district map

Cheshire West and Chester (Northwich) polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Cheshire West and Chester Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Cheshire West and Chester Council). We received 4 submissions on council size:

Cllr Jones

Cllr Jones Attachment 1

Cllr Jones Attachment 2

Cllr Jones Attachment 3

Cllr Jones Attachment 4

Conservative Group

Cheshire West Labour

Cheshire West Labour Addendum

Liberal Democrats Group

Liberal Democrats Group Appendix

Recommendations become law 

The Cheshire West and Chester (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cheshire West and Chester, was made on 4 January 2011 and published on 7 January 2011.

New wards for Cheshire West and Chester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Cheshire West and Chester can be viewed through the following link: 

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/4/made

The made order refers to the same maps as the draft order.  

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 11 October 2010 the Cheshire West and Chester (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Cheshire West and Chester and published on 13 July 2010.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cheshire West and Chester in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Please note: some of these sheets may be very large and may take some time to download.

Final recommendations

On 13 July 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cheshire West & Chester. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cheshire West & Chester. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. An Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next elections for Cheshire West & Chester Council in 2011.

Further consultation

Following our analysis of the submissions received during Stage Three, we sought  further views in a small area of Cheshire West & Chester.  This area covered the proposed wards of Elton, Little Neston & Burton, and Saughall & Mollington.

 On 24 March we published a press release.

The further consultation closed on 21 April 2010.

Below are the responses we received to our further consultation.  Because of the number of submissions received, we have uploaded these as one document.

Please note this document is large and may take some time to download. 

We consulted on our draft recommendations until 1 February 2010. 

Below are the responses we received during this consultation.  Due to the number of submissions received we have not uploaded these as individual documents. 

Cheshire West and Chester Council 

Cheshire West and Chester Council (PDF)

MPs and political groups

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

MPs, political parties and political groups in Cheshire West and Chester (PDF)

Councillors

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Councillors on Chester West and Cheshire Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish and town councils in Cheshire West and Chester (PDF)

Residents

All the submissions are contained in three PDF documents, arranged by surname: A-G, H-P or Q-Z.  At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Non-political organisations

We received submissions from Residents Associations, Community Groups and other non-political groups and organisations.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Residents and Community Associations and non-political groups in Cheshire West and Chest (PDF)

Please note that some of these documents are large and may take some time to download.

Draft recommendations

On 10 November 2009 we published our draft recommendations (PDF) for electoral arrangements for Cheshire West & Chester Council. The review is being carried out to decide the number of councillors and the boundaries of electoral wards for the unitary authority which took on local government functions in Cheshire (along with Cheshire East Council) in April 2009.

We have also published a summary of the report (PDF)

Maps of the area:

Please note that some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

We consulted on our draft recommendations until 1 February 2010.

Warding arrangements

On 12 May 2009, we started Stage One of the electoral review for the new Cheshire West & Chester unitary authority (ending 3 August 2009), consulting on the pattern of electoral arrangements for the authority. In the previous stage, we consulted on the proposed council size for the new council and decided it should have 75 elected members. Consequently, proposals for electoral arrangements should be based on this.

You may find our advice on warding patterns useful.  We also provide a map of parishes, a map of unparished areas and a list of electorate figures.

Press release

Below are the representations we received during Stage One:

Cheshire West and Chester Council submission (PDF)
Supplementary maps part 1 (PDF)*
Supplementary maps part 2 (PDF)*
* please note that these files are very large and may take some time to download on your computer

Political groups, MPs and councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Cheshire West and Chester Green Party (PDF)
Ellesmere Port & Neston Conservatives (PDF)
Ellesmere Port & Neston Liberal Democrats (PDF)
Chester Conservatives (PDF)
Labour Group (PDF)
Labour Local Government Committee (PDF)
Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)
Neston & Parkgate Labour (PDF)

Lord Harrison (PDF)
M Hall MP (PDF)
A McCarthy MEP (PDF)
A Miller MP (PDF)
C Russell MP (PDF)
S Moseley PPC (PDF)

Local organisations (PDF)

Parish and town councils

A-G (PDF)
H-N (PDF)
O-Z (PDF)

Residents

A-E (PDF)
F-H (PDF)
I-P (PDF)
R-Z (PDF)

Council Size

On 24 February 2009, we started the electoral review for the new Cheshire West & Chester unitary authority. During the current six week preliminary stage of the review (until 6 April 2009) we invited proposals for the council size of the new Cheshire West & Chester Council. We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Cheshire West & Chester during two further periods of consultation later in 2009.

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Cheshire West & Chester Council

Cheshire West & Chester Council submission (PDF)

Parish and town councils and councillors

Acton Bridge Parish Council (PDF)
Broxton & District Parish Council (PDF)
Guilden Sutton Parish Council (PDF)
Huxley Parish Council (PDF)
Lea-by-Backford Parish Council (PDF)
Malpas Parish Council (PDF)
Mickle Tafford & District Parish Council (PDF)
Northwich Town Counil (PDF)
Shocklach Oviatt & District Parish Council (PDF)
Tarpoley Parish Council (PDF)
Tarvin Parish Council (PDF)
Tilston Parish Council (PDF)
Tiverton & Tilstone Fearnall Parish Council (PDF)
Upton-by-Chester Parish Council (PDF)
Weaverham Parish Council (PDF)
Winsford Town Council (PDF)

Political organisations and MPs

Cheshire West & Chester Labour Local Government Committee (PDF)
Cheshire West & Chester Liberal Democrats (PDF) and additional clarification (PDF)

Residents

Mr Norman Angel (PDF)
Mr Keith Butcher (PDF)
Mr Reg Chrimes (PDF)
Ms Jill Houlbrook (PDF)
Dr & Mrs Lanceley (PDF)

Consultation

Original press release (PDF)

Letter sent to Chief Executives of County and District Councils at the beginning of the review (PDF)
Letter sent to Parish and local Councils at the beginning of the review (PDF)

We produce electoral review guidance to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area. This is available on the About electoral reviews page

Information regarding past electoral reviews of the Cheshire County Council, prior to it becoming two separate unitary authorities, which replaced the county and district councils on 1 April 2009, can be found here.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 March 2017
5 June 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
29 August 2017
6 November 2017
Final recommendations published
16 January 2018